Sanford voters chose Thomas Cote as the city’s first popularly elected mayor on Tuesday.

Cote, a Budget Committee member who has never held elective office, was elected by an overwhelming margin. He received 2,614 votes, while City Councilor Brad Littlefield had 742 votes and Chamber of Commerce President Richard “Rick” Stanley got 779 votes.

A charter change approved in November 2012 allowed Sanford to adopt a city form of government, with an appointed mayor for the first year. Interim Mayor Maura Herlihy decided not to run for election.

The mayor serves as the seventh member and chairman of the City Council, and has ceremonial duties in the city. The position has a three-year term.

Kenneth Burgess, who has served one term on the council, was elected to a three-year term with 1,142 votes. Five candidates competed for the one council seat. Burgess was joined in the race by former Town Meeting member Victor DiGregorio, who got 755 votes. Political newcomers Dianne Connolly, Robert Anthony Ege and Grady Fox received 996, 271 and 353 votes respectively.

John Roux and Scott Sheppard won three-year terms on the School Committee. Roux received 2,144 votes and Sheppard had 1,366. They edged out incumbents Don Jamison (1,091 votes) and Robert Gendron (1,277 votes).

Thomas Miscio ran unopposed to complete the term of Adam Cote, who resigned to deploy to Afghanistan. Miscio’s term will expire in December 2014.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.