Both South Portland youth football teams recently won state championships at Fitzpatrick Stadium in Portland. The Fire (5th graders) defeated Yarmouth, 8-0, in the title tilt.

Front row (from left): Alex Leupold, Blake Kierstead, Ryan Thurber, Zach Frank, Finn O’Connell, Luca Desjardins, Ben Hyland, Frank Tierney, Isaac Norberg, Brady Kirk, Colby Wyman.

Middle row: Paul Zechman, Camdyn Morrill, Keegan Hansen, Carson Blake, Camden Hanscombe, Harrison Ruhlin, Jacob Ramos, Owen Moynihan.
Not Pictured: J.T. West, Sam Gerry.
Coaches: Bob Kierstead, Thomas Desjardins, Tim Downing, Vincent Degifico.

The Big Red (6th graders) also won the championship by an 8-0 score, defeating the Portland Cowboys.

Front row: Simon Rasher, Geremi Baez, Corey Gagne.

Middle row: Owen Bean, Ryan Boles, Anthony Poole, Dylan Adams, Michael Delev, Bradley McMains, Andrew Riley.
Back row: Mitchell Cloutier, Manny Galaraga, Cadd Carr, Gabe Murray, Caleb Viola.
Not Pictured: Eric Walker.