University of Maine Coach Jack Cosgrove finished third in voting for the Eddie Robinson Award, presented to the coach of the year in the Football Championship Series (formerly Div. 1-AA), while freshman linebacker Christophe Mulumba placed sixth in voting for the Jerry Rice FCS Rookie of the Year voting, The Sports Network announced Monday.

Cosgrove received 18 first-place votes and 260 total in his third-place finish. Cosgrove, in his 21st year at Maine, was earlier honored as the Colonial Athletic Association Coach of the Year the 2013 American Football Coaches Association FCS Region 1 Co-Coach of the Year and the New England Football Writers’ Association Jack Grinold New England Coach of the Year.

Craig Bohl of North Dakota State won the Robinson Award for the second straight year.

Mulumba, who received four first-place votes and 119 total, represented the CAA as its defensive rookie of the year and also received FCS All-New England first team honors in his first year of competition with the Black Bears. Mulumba, an All-CAA first team selection, finished the season with a team-high 118 tackles, which was fifth most in the league. Mulumba recorded a two interceptions, four tackles for loss, 1.5 sack, and a fumble recovery. In Maine’s win at Albany, Mulumba recorded 19 tackles which was the single-game, league-high performance.

Eastern Washington wide receiver Cooper Kupp won the award.

Each award was voted on by a national panel of 147 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and others.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.