FARGO, N.D. — Brock Jensen threw three touchdown passes and John Crockett ran for 196 yards to help North Dakota State overpower New Hampshire 52-14 in the Football Championship Subdivision semifinals Friday night.

The two-time national champion Bison (14-0) advanced to the FCS title game Jan. 4 in Frisco, Texas, against the winner of the second semifinal Saturday between Eastern Washington and Towson.

North Dakota State is trying to match Appalachian State’s string of three straight FCS crowns from 2005-07.

The Bison overcame two turnovers and a 7-0 deficit in the first 3 minutes to roll before a playoff record-crowd of 18,694 fans at the Fargodome in the last home game for 24 seniors and head coach Craig Bohl, who’s leaving for Wyoming after the championship game.

Jensen, the winningest quarterback in FCS history, threw touchdown passes to Zach Vraa, Derrick Lang and Kevin Vaadeland in the first half and scored a 1-yard keeper early in the second.

North Dakota State finished with a 509-184 advantage in total offense.

New Hampshire finishes the year at 10-5.

RHODE ISLAND: The university announced the hiring of Central Florida defensive coordinator Jim Fleming as its new head football coach.

Fleming, who will be introduced Monday at a news conference on campus, replaces Joe Trainer, who was fired Nov. 18 with one year remaining on his contract.

JAMES MADISON: The school has hired Everett Withers, an assistant coach at Ohio State, as its new football coach.

ALABAMA: Defensive lineman D.J. Pettway is returning to Alabama 10 months after he was dismissed from the Crimson Tide.

Pettway and three other Alabama players were dismissed in February after being charged in alleged robberies in Tuscaloosa. Pettway was charged with two counts of second-degree robbery but a judge cleared him to play in Mississippi.

NOTRE DAME won’t play any Big Ten opponents in 2015, marking the first time since 1914 the Irish won’t play a school now a member of that conference.

In 2015, Notre Dame will play a game against Boston College at Fenway Park as part of its annual Shamrock Series.

BLOOMSBURG running back Franklyn Quiteh won the Harlon Hill Trophy as the NCAA Division II player of the year.

Quiteh, a three-time Harlon Hill finalist, was the national leader with 2,195 yards rushing and 29 rushing touchdowns.


(2) SYRACUSE 75, HIGH POINT 54: Trevor Cooney hit five 3-pointers and scored 17 points, C.J. Fair added 15 points, and the Orange won at home in the Carrier Dome.

Syracuse (11-0) remained unbeaten, but it wasn’t easy. High Point (3-7) trailed by just three points at halftime and led early in the second period before Syracuse responded with a 28-3 run to put the game away.


(10) SOUTH CAROLINA 69, WINTHROP 61: Carolina held off a late charge by Winthrop to win at Columbia, S.C.

The Gamecocks (10-1) led by 19 points in the opening half, yet struggled to stay ahead against the Eagles (6-3) of the Big South Conference.

(12) N.C. STATE 89, (12) LSU 79: Markeisha Gatling and Kody Burke each scored 25 points to lead North Carolina State to an upset win over LSU (9-2) at Raleigh, N.C.

Gatling shot 11 of 13 from the field and grabbed eight rebounds, six off the offensive glass, to lead the Wolfpack (11-1) to its first win over a ranked opponent since a 76-69 win over No. 19 Florida State last February.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.