Mike Strout was hired as the new human resources director for Community Partners Inc.

Strout has more than 20 years’ experience in the field. Most recently, he worked for Hannaford Bros. and Unum. He also served on the board of directors for Spring Harbor Hospital, Community Counseling Center and United Way of Greater Portland.

 Patrick Conti joined the law firm Garvey Schubert Barer as a litigation associate.

Previously, Conti was an associate at Arnold & Porter in California.

 Ira J. Camp joined Camden National Bank as a senior mortgage banker.

Camp, of Arundel, was previously a mortgage account officer and assistant vice president at People’s United Bank. He is active in the community, serving as chairman of the Arundel Economic Development Committee.

Kim Vieira also joined Camden National as a vice president, commercial banking officer.

Most recently, Vieira was vice president, commercial lending officer, for The Bank of Maine, serving York County. Vieira serves on the boards of the Laudholm Trust, the Kennebunk Rotary Club and the Maine Chapter of the Risk Management Association.

 Rhea Kafer joined the Don L’Heureux Team as its buyer specialist.

 Sandy Ward joined Goodwill Industries of Northern New England as business analyst.

Ward has extensive experience in financial operations, regulatory compliance, vendor partner management and information security.

Karin Anderson joined Goodwill as the senior director, foundation and partner relations. Anderson, a former executive director of the Maine Women’s Fund, was most recently principal of Dala Consulting. She has nearly 20 years of experience in improving economic opportunities for people in Maine.

Kelly Osborn also joined Goodwill as the executive director, workforce services. Osborn was most recently the director of the Wabanaki Vocational Rehabilitation Program. She has an extensive background in education, youth services, social services and vocational rehabilitation.


 John Braccio was promoted to president and chief executive officer of Wright-Pierce.

Braccio has worked for the firm for 30 years and previously served as a senior vice president in charge of wastewater engineering in southern New England. He will oversee operations in the company’s seven offices, located in Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Maine.


 Wright-Pierce was recently ranked by Engineering News Record as one of the country’s top 25 engineering firms in both the wastewater treatment plant design sector and in the sanitary and storm sewer sector.

The company also ranked in the top 50 in the sewerage and solid waste sector. Its Maine projects include wastewater treatment plant work in Sanford, Ogunquit, South Portland, Falmouth, Brunswick and Limestone; and stormwater work for the city of Portland and in Bangor for Eastern Maine Medical Center.

 The Maine School Nurse Association presented Susan Raatikainen with its School Nurse of the Year Award.

Raatikainen has been a school nurse for 26 years and is currently practicing at D.W. Lunt School in Falmouth. She provides school nursing services to 900 students in kindergarten through grade 5.


 Junior Achievement of Maine elected the following officers for the board of directors:

Guy Langevin, vice president of human resources and organizational development at Dead River Co., was named chairman. Stephen deCastro, market manager at Key Private Bank, was named vice chairman. Darren Hurlburt, president and chief executive officer of Maine Education Services, was named past chairman. Michelle Ritcheson, vice president, senior business banker at Bangor Savings Bank, was named treasurer. Greg Jamison, vice president of underwriting at MEMIC, was named secretary.

 The Maine Women’s Fund’s board of directors elected six new members and selected officers at its June meeting.

The new members are: Amelia Kurtz of South Portland; Donna McNeil of Portland; Rep. Mary Nelson of Falmouth; Noreen Alvarado Patient, Esq., of Durham; Dr. Candace Walworth of Lewiston and Hancock Point; and Paula Watson, Esq., of Cumberland.

Officers for the coming year include President Melinda Shain, Esq., of Gorham, a corporate counsel for Diversified Communications; and Walworth, secretary, who will also serve as the chair of the grants committee. Natalie Solotoff, CPA, will continue to serve as treasurer.

• Michael O’Reilly, senior vice president in the Commercial Banking Group at Bangor Savings Bank, was named president of the Maine Real Estate & Development Association.

O’Reilly succeeds Drew Sigfridson, who has led MEREDA for the past two years.

MEREDA also announced its new slate of officers: Paul Peck, of Drummond & Drummond LLP, was appointed vice president; William Shanahan, of Northern New England Housing Investment Fund, was named treasurer; James Otis, of Otis Atwell, was appointed assistant treasurer; Jaimie Schwartz, of Bernstein Shur, was named secretary; and Shelly Clark, of MEREDA, was appointed assistant secretary.


• Susan Baltrus, president of Maine College of Health Professions, has retired after 35 years of service as a nursing educator at Central Maine Medical Center.

Baltrus, of Lewiston, joined the CMMC School of Nursing faculty in 1979. She served as associate director of the nursing program from 1999 to 2009, and then was appointed director. In 2010, she was named the president of CMMC’s health professions education program. The college was recently renamed the Maine College of Health Professions. Baltrus also worked for 10 years in nursing management at Stephens Memorial Hospital in Norway. She worked another two years as a staff nurse at Togus Veteran’s Administration Hospital.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.