Sanford residents will elect three city councilors and two school board members on Nov. 4.

City Councilors Joseph Hanslip and Maura Herlihy, who is also deputy mayor, are running for re-election. They are being challenged by Steven Bruno, who is also seeking one of the two seats with three-year terms on the council.

Hanslip, who retired from his job as a police officer after being injured in the line of duty, has served on the City Council since 2005. He has served as both chairman and vice chairman at different times during his tenure.

Herlihy, 45, served on the council from 2004 to 2010, then was re-elected in 2012 and served as the city’s first interim mayor in 2013. She works at a family-owned property management business.

Bruno, 64, a father and grandfather from Springvale, is making his second run for a City Council seat. He previously served twice as a town meeting member and was on the town finance committee.

Four candidates are competing to fill the remainder of an unexpired council term, which will end in December 2016. The seat had been occupied by Ken Burgess, who resigned because of work commitments. The candidates are Victor DeGregorio, Lucas Lanigan, Dianne Connolly and Margaret Trowbridge.

The council appointed Connolly, 48, in July to fill the seat until the end of the year. She is a college student who had not previously served in public office before her appointment last summer.

Lanigan, 35, is making his first run for political office. He is a father of four and owner of two small businesses in Sanford.

DeGregorio, a small-business owner, also ran for a council seat last year. He served as a town meeting member for more than 20 years.

Trowbridge previously served on the city’s charter commission.

Kendra Williams, the current school board chairman, and school board member Thomas Miscio are running unopposed for three-year terms.

The city will continue to have three polling places, a change that began last spring. Polls will open at 8 a.m. at the Nasson Community Center (Ward 1), St. Ignatius Parish Hall (Ward 2) and Curtis Lake Christian Church (Ward 3).

Information about some candidates is incomplete because they could not be reached for this story.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.