AUBURN — Mechanics Savings Bank recently announced it will continue its long-standing tradition of offering Banking on the Future scholarships. This year, $17,000 will be awarded to local high school graduates pursuing their higher education goals.

Participating high schools include: Edward Little, Lewiston, Gray/New Gloucester, Poland Regional, Brunswick, Mt. Ararat, Saint Dominic Academy, Leavitt, Lisbon, Oak Hill and Windham.

Students are selected by their high school guidance department based on their accomplishments in and out of the classroom. Candidates must demonstrate academic success; service to school, community and/or family; and involvement in extracurricular activities.

The scholarship application can be retrieved in one of three ways: (1) it can be downloaded from the bank’s website at ommunity, (2) it can be retrieved from the guidance office at participating high schools, or (3) it can be picked up at your local Mechanics Savings Bank branch. The application process began this month and ends in early April. Deadlines vary by high school. Please visit your high school guidance department to learn more about your school’s scholarship application deadline.

filed under: