PORTLAND — The NBA Development League announced Wednesday that Maine Red Claws stars Romero Osby and Davion Berry have been named to the 2015 NBA D-League Select Team. The team of 12 of the top D-League players from the 2014-15 season will compete against NBA teams in the NBA Summer League starting today in Las Vegas.

The D-League Select team will be coached by Red Claws head coach Scott Morrison, as well as his 2014-15 coaching staff of Seth Cooper, Nathaniel Mitchell, Shaun Fein and A.J. Diggs.

Osby returned to the Red Claws midway through the 2014-15 season. In 18 games, Osby averaged 17.2 points and 7.1 rebounds per game.

Berry also joined Maine mid-season, playing 15 games for the Claws with three starts and averaging 7.1 points, 2.6 rebounds and 2.5 assists per contest.

In his first season as head coach, Morrison led Maine to the top spot in the Eastern Conference and a franchise-best 35-15 record. Morrison received the Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year Award as the top coach in the D-League.

This marks the sixth season that the D-League Select Team has competed in NBA Summer League.

The rest of the NBA D-League Select roster consists of Reno’s Cam Ayers, Fort Wayne’s Matt Bouldin, Erie’s Daniel Coursey, Texas’ Justin Dentmon, Santa Cruz’s Taylor Griffin (brother of Los Angeles Clipper star Blake Griffin), Sioux Falls’ Scotty Hopson, Bakersfield’s Joe Jackson and Casey Prather, Oklahoma City’s Maurice Sutton and Grand Rapids’ Hasheem Thabeet, who was the second overall pick in the 2009 NBA draft.

Along with Thabeet, who has five years of NBA experience, Dentmon, Griffin and Hopson have all played in the NBA

The D-League Select Team opens play in the Las Vegas Summer League with a game tonight against Houston.

The D-League Selects continue play Sunday and Monday with game against Washington and Atlanta, respectively.

        Comments are not available on this story.

        filed under: