• SMAA all-star, honorable mention

  • All-American All-Academic team

  • Team’s Most Outstanding Player

Poulin did a little of everything, all over the field, and was the driving force that helped the Lions make the playoffs for the first time in a decade.

Poulin grew up in Scarborough and started playing lacrosse at the age of eight. She’s also played soccer and sprinted in indoor track, but she says that lacrosse has always been her top sport.

Poulin, a midfielder, had three goals against Sanford and four in a key win over Deering. She finished the year with 18 goals, five assists, 58 ground balls, 24 draw controls, six interceptions and caused 39 turnovers. 

McAuley won five games and made the playoffs for the first time since 2005, but was ousted by top-ranked Messalonskee in the Eastern A quarterfinals.

“The goal was to get to the playoffs,” Poulin said. “We wanted to better our skills and win more games. We were happy to make playoffs. We have a bunch of strong returning players.”

Poulin said that she responded well to Lions’ first-year coach Jackie Dubois.

“I like to be pushed,” Poulin said. “Jackie knows how to push me. She knows how to help me improve on the field.”

Poulin also belongs to student council, Key Club and is the treasurer of her class. She’s an avid snowboarder as well. She’s considering her college options and hopes to play lacrosse at the next level.

First, she hopes to continue to lead her team up the standings. With Elizabeth Poulin, McAuley’s Spring Athlete of the Year, doing her thing, the Lions have a lot to look forward to in 2016.

Coach Jackie Dubois’ comment: “Elizabeth was our team’s most outstanding player this season and deservingly so. Her ability to perform the fundamentals exceptionally well made her an offensive and defensive leader, as well as a true competitor for our opponent. She controlled the tempo and pace, collected interceptions and scored goals. She hustled up and down the field, demonstrated her versatility and finished every play. The athleticism, confidence and poise she displayed with the ball allowed her the opportunity to be the playmaker for our team. She does all the small things for our team extremely well and contributes extensively on both sides of the field.”

Previous winners:

2014 Olivia Smith (track)

2013 Katherine Lake (lacrosse)

2012 Addie Devine (tennis)

2011 Shelby Bryant (softball)

2010 Shelby Bryant (softball)

2009 Erin Woodbury (tennis)

2008 Katelyn Call (softball)

2007 Abby Iselborn (track)

2006 Abby Iselborn (track)

2005 Abby Iselborn (track)

2004 Maureen Wark (lacrosse and track)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements