The New England Junior Amateur Invitational comes to the Purpoodock Club in Cape Elizabeth Monday and Tuesday. The six New England states each will be represented by seven players who qualified through tournaments in their states. The competition is for golfers age 17 and under.

The team competition is the main focus of the event, but there is an individual component as well. Maine’s team features Austin Legge and Ryan Collins, both of Cape Elizabeth, Drew Powell of Bangor, Drew Kane of Scarborough, Cole Anderson of Camden, Logan Thompson of Lincoln and Eric Dugas of Pittsfield.

As the Maine Junior champion, Legge was an automatic qualifier. Legge, 14, played up an age division, opting for the 15-17 bracket, in the Maine Junior Amateur on Aug. 5 and 6. By winning that division, he became the youngest champion in the tournament’s 79 years.

This will be Powell’s third straight appearance on the team and Kane’s second straight.

“I’m really excited about playing in the tournament again,” said Powell, who finished one shot behind Legge in the Maine Junior Amateur. “The team atmosphere is a lot of fun. You’re playing against the best players in New England.

“Having played in this tournament the last two years I feel will bode well for me. My game has been up and down this summer. I’ve been working on my swing. One of these days, it will click.”

A year ago, Powell shot rounds of 75, 72 and 77 to tie for 18th with an overall score of 224. The Maine team finished third.

Purpoodock measures 6,400 yards from the back tees. The tournament yardage will be between 6,300 and 6,400 yards.

“The course … will test all facets of the players’ games,” said Tony Decker, Purpoodock Club’s head golf professional. “I would call it a second-shot golf course in that it places a premium on a player’s iron and wedge games.”

The New England Golf Association runs the tournament, with Maine getting a turn to host every six years.

The field will play 36 holes on Monday and 18 on Tuesday. The best five out of seven scores count toward a team’s score. The tournament’s medalist and runner-up will receive awards.

Connecticut and Massachusetts have dominated the tournament with 15 and 12 wins. Massachusetts has won the last two tournaments. New Hampshire has won the tournament four times. Maine’s only win in the tournament came in 2002 at the Agawam Hunt Club in Rumford, Rhode Island. That team included Shawn Warren, Jesse Speirs, Joe Baker, Chris Woodward, Blake Eldridge and Scott Barnicle.

TEE TO GREEN: Ricky Jones of Thomaston is the winner of the 2015 Dr. Leonardo Buck Player of the Year award from the Maine State Golf Association. Jones, 43, accumulated the most points from Aug. 1 of 2014 to July 31 of this year. The highlight of his year was winning the 2014 Match Play title. This is the 10th time Jones has won the award, which started in 1996.

The Harold Alfond Invitational Pro-Am was held last Sunday at Belgrade Lakes Golf Course. Falmouth CC assistant pro Shawn Warren shot a 69 to take first place, worth $5,000. Alasdair Mackenzie of Boothbay CC was second with a 72 and won $1,500. John Hickson of Sebasco Estates placed third with a 74 to win $500.

In the team competition, pro Paul Piveronas of The Woodlands and amateur partners Dan McCarron, Andrew York, Michael O’Brien and Curtis Jordan took first place with a 60 gross. Team net honors went to pro Peter DeVos of Kebo Valley with teammates Jerry Tipper, Jeff Walvick, John Koons and Gary Allison with a 53.

Reese McFarlane tied for sixth in the 47th Big “I” National Championship at Prairie Dunes CC in Hutchinson, Kansas, Aug. 3-6. McFarlane, who graduated from Cape Elizabeth High in June, shot rounds of 74, 72, 73 and 74. The Big “I” is the third-oldest junior tournament in the country. Last week, McFarlane, 18, was low amateur in the State of Maine Championship at Sugarloaf Golf Club. McFarlane had the first round lead after a 75 and shot 79 in the second round to tie for third with pro Jeff Seavey.

Bob Darling Jr., the head pro at Fox Ridge GC in Auburn, won his sixth State of Maine Championship by three shots over Warren. Darling won his first title in 1996.

At the fifth annual Golfing Fore Kidneys Tournament at Brunswick GC, the team of Dr. Jim Whiting, Chris Whiting, Ray Smith and Matt Paul won low gross while the team of Steve Norton, Al Irish, Chris Gaucher, Steve York and Dave Dorion won low net. The tournament raised $6,000 for the Maine Transplant Program’s patient assistance fund.

The seventh annual Greely High Alumni Tournament will take place Aug. 28 at Val Halla Golf Course. This year’s tournament honorees are the 1995 Class B state championship boys’ basketball team and longtime Maine State Golf Association executive director Nancy Storey. Proceeds from the event help support the Greely High golf and basketball programs.