1 Scarborough: Since 2003, five Class A teams have won back-to-back state titles – Edward Little, Chev-erus, Biddeford, Thornton Academy and Falmouth. Scarborough could be the sixth with several returning forwards (Matt Caron, Jack Callahan, Cam Nigro, Skylar Pettingill, Cam Smith and Kyle Jacques), and solid defensemen (Sean McDonald, Colin Hayward and Eric Murray). Nearly every top team has a new starting goalie. Scarborough’s is senior Ross LeBlond.

2 Biddeford: The Tigers were as close as anyone to making a run for the Class A state title (losing to Scarborough in overtime in the playoffs). Now the team is older, led by forwards Kerry Crepeau, Ricky Ruck, Joe Anders, Zack Thompson, Colin Lavigne and Curtis Petit. Dylan Demers and Joe Curit anchor the defense (Cody Sevigny is out until January because of a broken wrist). Senior Tom Green is the new starting goalie.

3 Falmouth: The Yachtsmen graduated a lot of talent, and goalie Ryan Bonnvie transferred to a prep school. But Falmouth is a strong program and will quickly reload with forwards Robbie Armitage, Chris Camelio, Marcus Cady and Henry Norris, and defensemen Hogan Tracy and Reece Armitage. Sophomore Spencer Pierce takes over in goal.

4 Cheverus: A lot of young players will be asked to step into the spotlight. The Stags feature senior forwards Luke Trickey, Jesse Cyr-Brophy, Chris Vallee and Garrett Dion. Look for contributions from Cam Dube, Jesse Pierce and Sean Walsh. Sophomore Michael Hatch anchors a young defense. Colby Benway and Jason Halvorsen will split time in goal.

5 Kennebunk: The Rams were the top seed last season in Class B West (now South) and are favorites again. Bo Beveridge and Pat Gassman lead an impressive group of forwards (along with James Ross, Gavin Baumler, Brenden Whitten and Kyle Beaupre). Joe Mooney left to play juniors, but Donovan Connor, Miles Eaton and Nate Jewett are back on defense. Junior Spencer Desrochers is the new goalie.

– Kevin Thomas