Gov. Paul LePage on Tuesday submitted six nominations for judicial appointments to Maine’s Superior and District court benches.

The nominees will go before the Legislature’s Judiciary Committee in the coming weeks for public hearings, according to a news release from the governor’s office.

LePage nominated Harold Stewart II of Presque Isle to serve as a Superior Court justice, and Deborah Cashman of West Bath and Patrick Larson of Bangor to serve as District Court judges.

Stewart is an attorney at Stewart Law Office and specializes in insurance defense litigation, real estate and mediation services. Cashman is an assistant attorney general who has prosecuted homicide cases throughout the state. Larson is also an assistant attorney general and has prosecuted felony drug cases.

LePage also nominated E. Allen Hunter of Caribou, a former Superior Court justice, to serve as an active retired justice in Superior Court, and Judges E. Paul Eggert of Portland, who presides in the non-jury general jurisdiction court, and Keith A. Powers of Cape Elizabeth, a District Court judge since 1998, to serve as active retired judges in District Court.

Active retired judges fill in for judges and take on cases and arbitration duties as assigned by the chief judge.

Comments are no longer available on this story