FREEPORT — Town Councilor Jim Hendricks will not seek re-election in the Nov. 8 general election.

Louse Brogan, a member of the Regional School Unit 5 Board of Directors, will not be running again, either.

Nomination papers became available Aug. 1 and are due back to Town Hall by 6 p.m. Sept. 14.

Hendricks, who is an at-large councilor serving his second term, said he’s not running again because of the time commitment.

“Six years in and I’m getting a little tired,” Hendricks said. “At this point I’m thinking it’s time for someone else to step in.”

Brogan, who was elected last year to complete the final year of an unexpired term, also said she doesn’t have time to devote to the panel.

“I just don’t have time in my schedule,” she said.

There are eight seats on the local election ballot, for Town Council, RSU 5 Board of Directors, the Sewer District Board of Trustees, and the Water District Board of Trustees.

Three are on the Town Council, where according to Deputy Town Clerk Mary Howe, John Egan has taken out papers for Hendricks’ seat, but as of Tuesday had not returned them. Candidates for the at-large term that expires in 2019 must gather 100 signatures.

Councilor Scott Gleeson is seeking re-election in District 1, where Thomas Hudak also took out papers. Gleeson has returned his papers and had them certified, but as of Tuesday Hudak had not returned his, Howe said. Candidates must gather 50 signatures.

In District 3, candidates who hope to to finish the final year of former Councilor Kristina Egan, who resigned in July, also must submit 50 signatures. Peter Anzuini has taken out papers, returned them, and had them certified, Howe said.

Two, three-year seats on the RSU 5 board are available; each requires 100 signatures. Board member Valy Steverlynck is seeking re-election and has returned her papers, but Howe said they have not been certified.

John Jaques has also taken out papers for a seat on the RSU 5 board, but as of Tuesday had not returned them.

Two seats on the sewer board, held by Clinton Goodenow Jr. and Thomas Hudak, are up for election, as is one seat on the water board, held by Michael Ashby. All are for three years and require 25 signatures.

Goodenow and Ashby as of Tuesday had not taken out papers. Hudak has returned papers and had them certified, as has Timothy Whitacre. James Harriman and Earl Rowe Jr. have also taken out papers for the sewer board, but have not yet returned them.

No one has yet taken out papers for the seat on the water board.

Kate Gardner can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 125 or [email protected]. Follow her on Twitter: @katevgardner.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: