WESTBROOK—Westbrook hosts one of the season’s opening, large invitationals, and this past Saturday saw the event go off as planned. Mt. Ararat/Brunswick won the team title, with Westbrook (and Gorham – three Rams wrestle as part of the Blazes contingent) themselves finishing seventh.

“We had some ups and downs throughout the course of the day,” said Westbrook/Gorham co-coach John Nicholas, “but I was happy with the effort and I saw some glimpses of the potential this team has. If we can continue to fill all of the weights and improve as the season goes on, we will have a good year and maybe surprise a few teams along the way.”

Team Results
1. Mt. Ararat/Brunswick, 131; 2. Mountain Valley 125; 3. Skowhegan, 123; 4. Sanford, 122.5; 5. Cony, 94; 6. Morse, 82; 7. Westbrook/Gorham, 49; 8. Scarborough, 48; 9. Biddeford, 46; 10. Bonny Eagle, 42; 11. Messalonskee, 41; 12. Deering, 20; 13. Wiscasset, 18; 14. Marshwood, 3; 15. Sacopee Valley, 0

Championship Round Results
106 – Noah Dumas (Cony) defeated Vinny DeRoche (Mtn. Valley) by fall at :57
113 – Cody Craig (Skowhegan) defeated Ben Laurence (Mt. Ararat/Brunswick) by fall at :57
120 – Ricky Oberg (Skowhegan) defeated Caden Kowalski (Mt. Ararat/Brunswick) by technical fall, 16-0
126 – Caleb Austin (Mtn. Valley) defeated Jabbar Belin (Mt. Ararat/Brunswick) by fall at 1:25
132 – Caleb Frost (Bonny Eagle) defeated Donavin Rector (Morse) by fall at 3:39
138 – Ethan Boucher (Mtn. Valley) defeated Christian Jensen (Mt. Ararat/Brunswick) by decision, 5-2
145 – Jeremy Sendrowski (Scarborough) defeated Eddie DeRoche (Mtn. Valley) by decision, 7-4
152 – Cooper Holland (Skowhegan) defeated Sam Strozier (Wiscasset) by major decision, 16-6
160 – Sam Anderson (Sanford) defeated Jon Bell (Skowhegan) by fall at 3:25
170 – Austin Pelletier (Messalonskee) defeated Isaac Plante (Sanford) by fall at 1:10
182 – Robert Hetherman (Mt. Ararat/Brunswick) defeated Nic Mills (Cony) by fall at 5:00
195 – Dan Lawyerson (Skowhegan) defeated Khaalid Kakande (Sanford) by fall at 1:04
220 – Dylan Schenk (Mt. Ararat/Brunswick) defeated Trey Burnham (Biddeford) by decision, 6-4
285 – Nick Works (Sanford) defeated Mitch MacFarland (Cony) by fall at 4:26

Consolation Round Results
106 – Nicco Pappalardo (Westbrook/Gorham) defeated Adam Genereux (Sanford) by fall at 3:22
113 – Stevie Recknagle (Morse) defeated Dylan Trevino (Cony) by fall at 2:01
120 – Ryan Shackley (Westbrook/Gorham) defeated Grady Reardon (Messalonskee) by fall at 1:19
126 – Travis Dionne (Sanford) defeated Mick Swanson (Morse) by major decision, 9-1
132 – Cody Holman (Mt. Ararat/Brunswick) defeated Cooper Van Gieson (Sanford) by decision, 7-5
138 – Chris Solo (Deering) defeated Steven Lujan (Messalonskee) by fall at 4:33
145 – Isaiah Cogswell (Morse) defeated Jakob Arbour (Cony) by decision, 6-2
152 – Reese LaChance (Sanford) defeated Nate Rose (Morse) by fall at 4:06
160 – Colby Cardner (Morse) defeated Billy Doner (Biddeford) by medical forfeit
170 – John Nadeau (Skowhegan) defeated Aaron Lettre (Cony) by major decision, 15-6
182 – Mike Arsenault (Mtn. Valley) defeated Hunter Sprague-Nason (Westbrook/Gorham) by fall at 2:54
195 – Darin Buono (Mtn. Valley) defeated Mike Debaker (Bonny Eagle) by fall at 2:28
220 – Aren Dickman (Scarborough) defeated Ian Brenick (Mtn. Valley) by fall at 1:59
285 – Devyn Butler (Biddeford) defeated Brian Dupuis (Bonny Eagle) by decision, 3-2

Ryan Shackley won the David Bouchard Award as the outstanding Westbrook/Gorham wrestler.

Bonny Eagle’s Alyssa Hill fights to break free of Mtn. Valley’s Caleb Austin.

Westbrook/Gorham’s Max Kimmel faces off in an early bout.

Bonny Eagler Caleb Frost jumps atop a Skoweghan opponent in an early contest.

Scarborough’s Isaac Parker works to steady himself against Biddeford’s Isaac Parker.

Westbrooker Ryan Schackley made short work of this Sanford opponent.

Westbrook/Gorham’s Stephen Deschaine tumbles to the mat vs. Morse’s Donavin Rector.

Bonny Eagler Tyler Fitz lunges for an opponent in the early bracketing.

Scarborough’s Jeremy Sendrowski proved the 145 Champion at Saturday’s Westbrook Invitational.

Westbrook/Gorham’s Henri Kuntz fends off a Cony opponent.

Westbrooker Jared Grant lines up against an early-tournament opponent.

Mt. Ararat/Brunswick’s Ben Laurence and Westbrook’s Alex Cosme grapple in an early bout.

Bonny Eagle’s Cody Mains defeated his Scarborough opponent in just under five minutes.

Bonny Eagle’s Andrew Thomas circles a Skowhegan opponent.

Westbrook/Gorham’s Connor Kerwin clashes with a Mtn. Valley opponent early in this past weekend’s Invitational.

Westbrook/Gorham’s Hunter Sprague-Nason took fourth at 182 this past weekend.

Bonny Eagler Marshall Farwell wrestles at the Westbrook Invitational this past weekend.

Mt. Ararat/Brunswick’s CadenKowalski wraps up Messalonskee’s Grady Reardon.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.