PITTSBURGH — Sidney Crosby and Scott Wilson scored 51 seconds apart in the third period, helping the Pittsburgh Penguins eliminate the Columbus Blue Jackets with a 5-2 win in Game 5 of their first-round series on Thursday night.

Bryan Rust scored twice for Pittsburgh, Phil Kessel added his second of the playoffs and Marc-Andre Fleury finished with 49 saves.

William Karlsson and Boone Jenner scored for the Blue Jackets.

RANGERS 3, CANADIENS 2: Mika Zibanejad scored at 14:22 of overtime to give New York a win at Montreal in Game 5 of their first-round series.

Chris Kreider’s shot on a rush went off Alexei Emelin’s stick right to Zibanejad for a shot into an open side.

The Rangers grabbed a 3-2 lead in the best-of-seven series and will look to advance when they host Game 6 on Saturday.

Jesper Fast and Brady Skjei also scored for New York.

Artturi Lehkonen scored and set up a goal by Brendan Gallagher in the first period for Montreal.

PREDATORS 4, BLACKHAWKS 1: Roman Josi scored twice, Pekka Rinne made 30 saves and Nashville won at home to complete a surprising sweep of the Western Conference’s top seed.

Colton Sissons also scored and Viktor Arvidsson added an empty-net goal as Nashville completed the franchise’s first playoff sweep.


SABRES: Buffalo fired General Manager Tim Murray and Coach Dan Bylsma after the team missed the playoffs for a sixth consecutive season.

Murray had completed his third full season as GM and was responsible for overseeing a top-to-bottom rebuilding project. Bylsma completed his second season. The Sabres went 33-37-12 and finished last in the Atlantic Division.

CALDER FINALISTS: Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews, Blue Jackets defenseman Zach Werenski and Jets winger Patrik Laine are the finalists for the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year.

Matthews is the front-runner after scoring 40 goals and leading all rookies with 69 points. Laine missed nine games because of a concussion but still finished with 36 goals and 28 assists. Werenski led rookie defensemen with 47 points on 11 goals and 36 assists.

The winner will be announced at the NHL awards show June 21 in Las Vegas.