A dozen Maine students were awarded $2,500 as finalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program, officials announced Wednesday.

The students are among 2,500 merit scholars nationwide chosen from a field of 15,000 applicants. They were judged on their academic record, scores on two standardized tests, contributions and leadership in school and community, an essay and a recommendation from a high school officials.

The winners are: Natalie J. Gale, Cape Elizabeth High School; Maggie K. Nolan, Greely High School; Paige J. Singer, Marshwood High School; Alexander L. Bartone, North Yarmouth Academy; Thomas J. Matthews, Gorham High School; Kyle Ryan, Kennebunk High School; Jake E. Koffman, Orono High School; Evan P. Kane, Scarborough High School; Steven H. Larkin, Cheverus High School; Ellen E. Stanton, South Portland High School; Benjamin M. Eneman, York High School; and Peter W. Kenealy, York High School.