LOWELL, Mass. — Nick Silva and Jeff Gelinas combined on a three-hitter and Maine stayed alive in the America East baseball tournament with a 3-0 win Friday against Stony Brook.

Silva (2-2) allowed a leadoff double to Toby Handley, then held Stony Brook (26-26) without another hit until he gave a double and a single with two outs in the ninth. Gelinas struck out the final batter to earn his seventh save of the season.

Silva fanned 10 and walked six.

Maine (23-28) took a 2-0 lead in the third inning on a bases-loaded single by Jonathan Bennett. In the seventh, Jeremy Pena was hit by a pitch, advanced on a sacrifice and scored on an error.

Maine plays another elimination game Saturday against top-seeded Binghamton. The Black Bears need two wins Saturday and two Sunday to win the championship.


NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS: Yarmouth’s Emma Egan, a freshman at Williams, won the high jump with a height of 5 feet, 91/4 inches at the Division III championships in Geneva, Ohio.

Allison Hill of Brunswick won her 100-meter hurdles heat with a time of 14.20 seconds, advancing to Saturday’s final. Her Bates teammate, Ayden Eickhoff, qualified for the 800 final by finishing second her heat at 2:10.78.

 Isaiah Harris of Lewiston qualified for the Division I championships by posting the fastest qualifying time at the East regional in Lexington, Kentucky.

Harris, a Penn State sophomore, finished in 1:45.92, more than a second ahead of the rest of the field. He’ll compete in the national championships June 7-10 in Eugene, Oregon.


NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS: Bates went wire-to-wire to win its first varsity eight and second varsity eight heats in West Windsor, New Jersey, putting the Bobcats in position to win their second NCAA Division III title in three years.

The Bobcats’ first varsity eight – Laura Rand, Emma Wheeler, Grace Murnaghan, Olivia Stockly, Hannah Fitts, Lena Rintell, Rosemary Kyne, Molly Pritz and coxswain Katherine Traquina – completed the 2,000-meter course in 6 minutes, 35.534 seconds. Defending champion Wellesley was second in 6:37.704.

The second varsity eight – Alex Salazar, Claudia Glickman, Sophia Merelas, Cara Starnbach, Phoebe Long, Jessica Vocaturo, Julia Mason, Grace Jurkovich and coxswain Abigail Bierman – won its heat by more than 10 seconds with a time of 6:53.083.

Both crews will race in the grand finals Saturday.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.