FOXBOROUGH, Mass. — After back-to-back heartbreaks in the last two title games extended decades of frustration, Maryland was finally able to celebrate.

Dylan Maltz had two goals and an assist and Tim Rotanz scored three times as the top-seeded Terrapins defeated Ohio State 9-6 on Monday in the NCAA men’s lacrosse championship game, putting an end to a 42-year title drought.

“It’s an unbelievable experience. You look at everyone who played so hard for this program and set such a platform for us to succeed, it’s awesome to see them in the crowd,” Rotanz said. “I have no feeling right now. I’m numb.”

Rotanz scored the final goal with 59 seconds left, allowing the Terps (16-3) a little comfort to count down the final minute after three goals by Ohio State in the fourth quarter pulled the Buckeyes within two.

Maryland was the runner-up four of the previous six years and nine times overall since winning its second title in 1975.

Tre Leclaire had a goal and an assist for Ohio State (16-5), which was playing in the title game for the first time. The Buckeyes had never been past the second round.

“They’ve created a new standard both on the field and off, an expectation, and helped really define what we refer to as the Buckeye way,” said Ohio State Coach Nick Myers, a Kennebunk High graduate.


NCAA TOURNAMENT: Oregon State has put together the best season by any team in 35 years, and the Beavers’ work was rewarded when they were made the No. 1 national seed for the NCAA tournament.

After narrowly missing the tournament last year, the Beavers went 49-4 and set a Pac-12 record with 27 conference wins. They’ll go into the tournament with the fewest losses since Texas entered 53-4 in 1982, according to Associated Press and NCAA research.

Miami’s record streak – 44 consecutive years in the NCAA tournament, the longest for any college team in any Division I sport – ended when the Hurricanes did not get an at-large berth into the 64-team field. The Hurricanes (31-27) were the first team out, the NCAA said, which did nothing to soften the blow for a team that went to the College World Series each of the last two years.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.