YORK COUNTY – While we celebrate the Fourth of July with barbeques and family, it is important to understand the rules in place for fireworks before ruining the fun.

The following are town and municipal ordinances regarding the use and sale of consumer fireworks:

If a town/city has no ordinances against fireworks, the following guidelines apply:

  • Can be used between 9 a.m. and 10 p.m., except on July 4 and Dec. 31 and the weekends immediately before and after, which can be used between 9 a.m. and 12:30 a.m.
  • Can only use on a person’s own property or the property of a person who has consented for fireworks use on their property.
  • Persons under 21 may not purchase, use or possess consumer fireworks within state of Maine.
  • Missile-type rockets, helicopters, aerial spinners, sky rockets and bottle rockers are all prohibited for use in Maine.

Arundel

The use of consumer fireworks is allowed within the town limits of Arundel. The use is governed by the State of Maine Fireworks Law and Regulations.

Biddeford

On April 3, 2012, an ordinance became law prohibiting the sale and use of consumer fireworks. This excludes those who are issued a firework display permit by the City of Biddeford or State of Maine pursuant to 8 M.R.S §227-A. Any person possessing or using consumer fireworks can be fined between $200 to $400. Any person selling consumer fireworks can be fined between $500 to $1,000.

Buxton

On Dec. 12, 2011, an ordinance took effect prohibiting the sale and use of consumer fireworks. This excludes those who are issued a firework display permit by the Town of Buxton and/or State of Maine pursuant to 8 M.R.S §227-A. Violation of the ordinance can result in a fine of $100 to $2,500.

Hollis

On Nov. 8, 2012, an ordinance became law prohibiting the use and sale of consumer fireworks in the town of Hollis. 

Kennebunk

The use of consumer fireworks is allowed within the town limits of Kennebunk. The use is governed by the State of Maine Fireworks Law and Regulations.

Kennebunkport

On June 12, 2012, an ordinance took effect prohibiting the use and sale of consumer fireworks within the Town of Kennebunkport or from any watercraft within waters of the Town of Kennebunkport. This excludes those who are issued a firework display permit by the State of Maine pursuant to 8 M.R.S §227-A, or by the town of Kennebunkport. Any person possessing or using consumer fireworks can be fined between $200 to $600. Any person selling consumer fireworks can be fined between $500 to $1,000. 

Lyman

The use of consumer fireworks is allowed within the town limits of Lyman. The use is governed by the State of Maine Fireworks Law and Regulations.

Old Orchard Beach

On March 6, 2012, an ordinance became law prohibiting the sale and use of consumer fireworks to ensure the safety of residents and property owners of the town of Old Orchard Beach and the general public. This excludes those who are issued a firework display permit by the Town of Old Orchard Beach and/or State of Maine pursuant to 8 M.R.S §227-A. Violation of the ordinance can result in a fine of $100 to $500.

Saco

On July 17, 2012, an ordinance took effect prohibiting the use, possession, or sale of consumer fireworks in the city of Saco. This excludes those who are issued a firework display permit by the City and/or State of Maine pursuant to 8 M.R.S §227-A. Any person possessing or using consumer fireworks can be fined between $200 to $600. Any person selling consumer fireworks can be fined between $500 to $1,000.

Sanford

On Feb. 2, 2012, an ordinance became law prohibiting consumer fireworks use. This ordinance prohibits any person from discharging fireworks within the corporate boundaries of the city of Sanford. This excludes a public display of fireworks under supervision by the municipal officers of Sanford. Violation of the ordinance can result in a fine of $500 to $1,000.

Waterboro

On Jan. 1, 2012, the sale, purchase, and use of fireworks became legalized in Waterboro. Rules under the state apply to the town of Waterboro including a requirement of a valid license and being over the age of 21. Violations of rules within the act can face varying fines and imprisonment.

Wells

On Jan. 20, 2012, an ordinance became law prohibiting the use and sale of consumer fireworks to protect public health, safety and welfare. This excludes those who are issued a fireworks display permit by the Town and/or State of Maine pursuant to 8 M.R.S §227-A. Any person possessing or using consumer fireworks can be fined between $100 $500. Any person selling consumer fireworks can be fined between $500 to $2,500.


Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: