SailMaine appointed Michael McAllister as its new executive director.
McAllister, of Portland, is a former member of SailMaine’s board of directors. He has served as interim executive director for the past year.
As executive director of SailMaine, McAllister will continue to pursue SailMaine’s mission of providing affordable access to the water through community sailing and educational programming.

Bo Hoppin was hired as executive director of Hurricane Island Center for Science and Leadership.
Hoppin brings more than 27 years of related experience. Most recently, he was executive director of Friends of Young Achievers in Boston, Massachusetts.
Hoppin will be relocating to the greater Rockland area.

Grant Austin joined St.Germain Collins as a senior project manager and environmental scientist.
Austin has nearly 20 years of experience as an environmental scientist.


Matt Leonard, a local businessman and former president and chief executive officer of the Lewiston Auburn Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce, was named a co-owner of LA Metro Magazine.
Leonard will assume the duties as chief visionary officer focusing on business development, creative development, and working on a vision to steer the magazine’s course into the future.

Susan Feibelman was named head of school for Maine Coast Semester at Chewonki, a Wiscasset institution dedicated to education and the environment.
Feibelman joined the faculty last year as a U.S. history teacher. She brings 17 years of progressive leadership roles in the Dallas public schools.

U.S. Cellular promoted Brittany Smith to administrative coordinator for the directors of sales for company-owned and agent store locations in New England.
Smith will work out of the company’s regional business office in South Portland. She joined U.S. Cellular in 2006 as a retail wireless consultant. Most recently, she served as the administrative coordinator.

St.Germain Collins promoted Sandra Perry to director of environmental, health and safety services.
Perry has been with St.Germain Collins since 2015 and has more than more than 25 years of comprehensive regulatory compliance experience throughout New England.

Diversified Communications announced that Rick Watson was promoted to chief executive officer of DBC Pri-Med.
Watson was hired in 2002 and has held leadership roles in marketing, corporate development and general management.

Sarah Chappell Armentrout

The Maine Community Foundation elected two members to its board of directors: Sarah Chappell Armentrout of Lyman; and Adilah Muhammad of Lewiston.
Armentrout co-founded Carlisle Academy Integrative Equine Therapy and Sports for individuals with and without special needs.
Muhammad is a strategic planning and research consultant. She has facilitated community change efforts between faith-based and public institutions at the local, state and national level.


The League of Women Voters of Maine re-elected Jill Ward as president.
Ward lives in South Portland. Polly Ward of South Freeport, was named vice president; Cathie Whittenburg of Portland, was named secretary; and Ann Luther of Trenton, was named treasurer.
The following women were named directors: Peg Balano of Falmouth; John Brautigam of Portland; Helen Hanlon of Winthrop; Barbara Kaufman of South Freeport; Linda Lord of Brooks; Barbara McDade of Bangor; Stephanie Philbrick of Bowdoin; and Anne Schink of South Portland.

The Animal Welfare Society appointed Barbara Finkelstein to its board of directors.
Finkelstein has spent her 39-year career in higher education and is currently the president of York County Community College in Wells.

Timothy Griffin and Daniel Kleban joined the board of directors at Wolfe’s Neck Farm.
Griffin is an associate professor at the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy, Tufts University. He was previously a research agronomist and lead scientist with the USDA-Agriculture Research Service in Orono from 2000 to 2008.
A former attorney, Kleban co-founded Maine Beer Co. in Freeport in 2009.

Natalie King, executive vice president of Stonewall Kitchen, was selected as a 2017 Hall of Fame recipient by the Specialty Food Association.
King joined Stonewall Kitchen in 1996 and currently leads all of Stonewall Kitchen’s “guest-facing” efforts, including the wholesale division, 10 company stores, the cooking school and catalog and internet divisions in addition to the teams that oversee product development, merchandising planning and buying, marketing and design and guest services.

filed under: