The Boston Red Sox have set their 25-man roster for the American League Division Series, which begins at 4 p.m. Thursday in Houston.

The roster does not feature many surprises, although veteran outfielder Chris Young is left off, in place of Rajai Davis, who is a better base-stealing threat.

In the bullpen, the Red Sox went with only one left-hander (David Price), meaning Robby Scott was left out. In one surprise, Austin Maddox, who began the year with the Portland Sea Dogs, was included, and Matt Barnes left off.

The roster:


22-Rick Porcello, RHP

24-David Price, LHP

31-Drew Pomeranz, LHP

38-Doug Fister, RHP

39-Carson Smith, RHP

41-Chris Sale, LHP

43-Addison Reed, RHP

46-Craig Kimbrel, RHP

52-Eduardo Rodriguez, LHP

56-Joe Kelly, RHP

71-Austin Maddox, RHP


3-Sandy Leon

7-Christian Vàzquez


2-Xander Bogaerts

11-Rafael Devers

12-Brock Holt

13-Hanley Ramirez

15-Dustin Pedroia

17-Deven Marrero

18-Mitch Moreland

36-Eduardo Núñez


16-Andrew Benintendi

19-Jackie Bradley Jr.

25-Rajai Davis

50-Mookie Betts