Michaela Jordan led Cheverus to another strong season and was named to the SMAA girls’ soccer All-Conference team.

File photos.

More photos below.

With so much success in so many sports this fall, it’s no surprise to learn that local athletes had quite a presence on postseason all-star teams.

Here’s a recap:


The Class A North football All-Conference Offensive team included Cheverus running back Max Coffin, wide receiver Sean Tompkins and linemen Bob Holzhacker and Zeb Leavitt and Portland running back Terion Moss, lineman Charles Egeland, utilityman Vinnie Pasquali and kicker Quinn Clarke.

Cheverus’ Leavitt was named Class A North Lineman of the Year.

The Class A North All-Conference Defensive team featured Cheverus linebacker Nate Dunn and Portland lineman Nathan Kaponga, lineman Koa Farnsworth, linebacker Zack Elowitch and back Ben Stasium. 

Cheverus’ Finn Cawley, Perrin Conant, Connor Galardo and Griffin Watson and Portland’s Quinn Clarke and Griffin Foley qualified for the Class A North All-Academic team.

The Southwestern Maine Activities Association Class A South All-Academic team included Deering’s Luc Harrison, Owen Martinson, Keegan Stanton and Blaise Vail.

Boys’ soccer

Portland’s Class A South champion boys’ soccer team placed junior forward Pedro Fonseca, senior back Quinn Clarke, senior back Manny Yugu and senior goalkeeper Rowan Daligan on the SMAA All-Conference first-team. They were joined by Cheverus senior forward Luc Dionne and Deering senior back Robert Ochan.

The second-team featured Cheverus junior midfielder Michael Nason and junior back Tanner LaFlamme, Deering senior forward Caleb Delano and senior midfielder Bill Turahimbawe and Portland senior midfielder Zekariya Shaib.

Cheverus’ Evan Bergeron, Sean Greatorex, Ethan Johnson, Hunter Johnson, Tucker Landry, Kevin Ly and Sean Scanlon and Portland’s Jeremy Bruce, Quinn Clarke, Rowan Daligan, Daniel Hanley, Dana Hinchliffe, Aaron Hoekstra, John Kovarik, Sam Mermin, Andre Perreault and Manny Yugu all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

The Western Maine Conference’s Classes C/D boys’ All-Conference team featured Waynflete seniors Ilyas Abdi and Christian Brooks and sophomores Luca Antolini and Askar Houssein.

Cheverus’ Luc Dionne and Portland’s Quinn Clark, Pedro Fonseca and Manny Yugu were named to the Class A South regional all-star team. Waynflete’s Ilyas Abdi and Christian Brooks were selected to the Class C South regional squad.

Girls’ soccer

On the girls’ side, in the SMAA, the All-Conference first-team included Cheverus sophomore forward Emma Gallant and senior back Michaela Jordan. 

The second-team featured Deering sophomore forward Mia Sargent and Portland senior back Ella Altidor.

Deering senior midfielder Darrah Scott, sophomore back Kiaya Gatchell and sophomore goalkeeper Gianna Charest, along with Maine Girls’ Academy senior back Madison Legassey, were honorable mentions.

Cheverus’ Michaela Jordan was also named SMAA Defensive Player of the Year.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Katie Boynton, Abby Cavallaro, Kathryn Griffiths, Mackenzie Johnston and Kate Sessler and Portland’s Ella Altidor, Julia Jankowski and Caitriona Moran.

In the WMC, Waynflete seniors Ava Farrar and Lydia Giguere made the C/D All-Conference team.

Cheverus’ Emma Gallant and Michaela Jordan were named to the Class A South regional all-star team.

Waynflete’s Ava Farrar and Lydia Giguere made the Class C South regional squad.

Field hockey

Cheverus was the lone local field hockey team to make the playoffs this year and the Stags placed senior Hannah Abbott and junior Sophia Pompeo on the SMAA All-Conference first-team. 

Cheverus junior Bella Booth, Deering junior Molly Dutton and Portland junior Jade McIlwain all were named to the second-team.

Honorable mentions included Cheverus senior Anna Smith, Deering junior Ali Donovan and Portland junior Nettie Walsh.

Rookies of the Year included Cheverus freshman Lucia Pompeo, Deering freshman Rebekah Dunn and Portland senior Antonia Daley.

Gabby Begos, of the Maine Girls’ Academy/Waynflete co-op team, was named to the WMC All-Conference first-team. 

Teammates Gabby Eng and Daniellette Johnson made the second-team.

MGA/Waynflete’s Gabby Begos and Daniellette Johnson also qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Cheverus’ Hannah Abbott and Sophia Pompeo were selected for the South region All-State team.


After a breakthrough season, Deering placed Maddy Broda, Dianne Dervis and Avery Donovan on the SMAA volleyball All-Conference first-team.

The second-team included Cheverus’ Maddy Geiger.

Cheverus’ Julia Pomerleau, Deering’s Divine M’Bambi and Portland’s Sophia Silva were all named honorable mentions.

Cross country

Waynflete’s Henry Spritz, the Class C individual champion, qualified for the WMC boys’ cross country first-team.

Waynflete’s Andrew Clark, Nick Hagler and Nick Wagg all qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

In the SMAA, the boys’ All-Conference first-team featured Deering’s Yahya Nure and Alec Troxell.

Cheverus’ Donald Mahoney and Deering’s Abdikadir Abdirahman were honorable mention selections.

Cheverus’ Brian Conti and Will Shibles, Deering’s Wilder Baldwin, Gannon Duckworth, Ahmed Hameed and Yahya Nure all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Deering’s Nure was also named SMAA Runner of the Year.

On the girls’ side, the SMAA second-team included Deering’s Sierra Aponte-Clarke.

Cheverus’ Mackenzie Turner and Deering’s Nicole Whipkey were honorable mentions.

Cheverus’ Delphi Bourassa, Teegan Guenther and Alexis Paszyc, Deering’s Elizabeth Davis, Julia Lancia, Lucy Tumavicus and Nicole Whipkey and Portland’s Christina Donato all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

In the WMC, Waynflete’s Abby Pipkin and Anna Wildes made the second-team.

Waynflete’s Callie Banksmith, Leeza Kopaeva, Abby Pipkin, Dorrie Pinchbeck and Luna Soley all qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.


After another strong year on the links, Cheverus’ Conner McDonald, Deering’s Alex McGonagle and Portland’s Reed Foehl were all named to the SMAA Northern Division golf first-team.

Cheverus’ Jeremy Baker and Tom Higgins and Portland’s Jacob Loranger made the second-team.

Cheverus’ Jackson Humphrey and Anna Sanders and Portland’s Ian McCallum qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Maddy Broda and her Deering teammates had a season to remember. Broda was honored for her play by being named an SMAA all-star.

Portland’s Vinnie Pasquali was named to the Class A North football all-star team.

Waynflete’s Henry Spritz didn’t just win the Class C individual title this fall, he was also named as a WMC boys’ cross country all-star.