AUGUSTA — The semifinalists for the 2017 Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Offensive and Defensive Lineman Awards were announced earlier this week and several local standouts made the cut.
Kennebunk’s Cole Hoffman, Sanford’s Nick Works, Thornton Academy’s Jack Webb and Wells’ Sean McCormack-Kuhman were named semifinalists for the offensive award. The other semifinalists are Bonny Eagle’s Zach Klein and Cape Elizabeth’s Nathan Labrie.
On the defensive side, Sanford’s Mike Lunny and Thornton Academy’s Garret Lynn were selected as semifinalists. Also making the list were Bonny Eagle’s Arlo Pike, Cheverus’ Zebulin Leavitt, Falmouth’s Griffin Aube, Leavitt’s Aidan Parmenter and Scarborough’s Anthony Griffin.
The group will be cut from 13 down to six finalists before two winners are announced on Saturday, January 27 at the Augusta Civic Center. The winners will each receive a $5,000 scholarship, while the runners-up will get a $1,000 scholarship.
The Gaziano awards are presented annually to the Maine high school football offensive and defensive linemen who epitomize the character, leadership and perseverance of Frank J. Gaziano. After an outstanding high school, college, and professional football career, Gaziano became a successful businessman, community benefactor and family man.

filed under: