1. Massabesic: The Class A champion returns four first-team All-SMAA players, including midfielders Madison Drain, Morgan Pike, Logan Champlin and Skylar Renaud – all of whom significantly contributed to the Mustangs’ offense last year. Drain led the team to a 16-0 record with 40 goals, 25 assists and 41 ground balls, and was named the Telegram Player of the Year. Kaylee St. Laurent and Abi Chaves along with goalkeeper Lydia Wasina return to a defense that posted a 3.1 goals-against average last season.

2. Kennebunk: The two-time defending Class B champion graduated two Telegram All-State selections in midfielder Gabby Fogg and defender Maran Oakman but return plenty of talent. Four-year varsity players Hallie Schwartzman (27 goals, two assists) and Erin Gorton (27 goals, seven assists) will lead the Rams’ offense while Mia Murray anchors their defense. The Rams (13-2) defeated Yarmouth for the state title the past two years but will face new competition, such as Massabesic, as they return to play in Class A.

3. Falmouth: The Yachtsmen (10-4) are young but, after falling to Kennebunk in the Class B South final the past three years, will get a fresh start in the Class A North. Falmouth’s biggest loss from last season is midfielder and repeat All-Telegram pick Sydney Bell. At midfield, a scrappy duo of juniors, Caitlyn Camelio and Kayla Sarazin, along with freshman Eva Clement will help fill the void. Senior attacker Chelsey Smithwick (18 goals, two assists) will bring leadership to the young squad that also has a new head coach in Ashley Pullen.

4. Yarmouth: The Clippers (15-1) graduated eight players – including two All-Telegram players in defender Gretchen Barbera and goalie Mary Kate Gunville – but also returned eight seniors. After falling to Kennebunk in the Class B final, Yarmouth will rely on its veteran experience to return to the state championship game. On offense, All-Telegram selection Eva Then (35 goals, 16 assists) will lead the way with Meredith Lane (18 goals, 12 assists) and Hannah Corey serves as the defense’s backbone.

5. Cape Elizabeth: The Capers (8-6) made a good run last year, defeating Waynflete in the playoffs for the first time before falling to Kennebunk, the eventual Class B champion, in the South semifinals. They look poised for another strong season. Cape Elizabeth’s offense will be led by midfielder Karli Chapin, a talented sophomore, and attackers Chloe Chapin and Susie Graham – both senior captains. Behind defenders Brooke Harvey and Tory McGrath, goalie Erin Foley will be hard to score against.

– Taylor Vortherms

Comments are not available on this story.