Sculpture at Eastern Prom trailhead spruced up

The Armillary Sphere that marks the trailhead of the Eastern Promenade at Commercial Street has been restored.

The Armillary was given to the city by the Portland Rotary Club and Portland Trails in 2001 to commemorate the club’s 85th anniversary. The sculpture and functioning sundial had weathered significantly since its installation.

To restore it, the city met with artist Patrick Plourde to discuss conservation methods. The city next power-washed the concrete surrounding the structure and coated the sculpture with a protective finish to reduce environmental staining.

The Portland Rotary Club plans to provide sustained maintenance on the structure.


School district celebrates retiring staff at luncheon

As the 2017-2018 school year came to a close, the Wells-Ogunquit Community School District paused to recognize retiring staffers and those celebrating milestone years of service to the district.

Those individuals were honored during a Celebration of Service to Education appreciation luncheon Tuesday at Wells Junior High School, where school officials spoke of individual contributions and each received a gift bag.

Retiring are Sandy Brennan, 44 years of service; Bruce Fearon, 39 years; Deb Howard, 27 years; Tari Matthews, 24 years; Adrienne Zwetsloot, 23 years; Cheryl Oakes; 22 years; Henry Ingwersen, 20 years; and Karen Westerberg, 14 years.

Recognized for 20 years of service to the district were Chris Milliken and Diane St. Onge.

Breakfast of Champions honors 58 primary schoolers

Wells Elementary School held its final Breakfast of Champions event for the 2017-18 school year, honoring 58 first- through fourth-graders for demonstrating one or more of the school’s core values.

Parents and guests attended the breakfast, where Principal April Noble invited each student to the stage to personally explain why each was picked for this honor. Each student received a certificate of recognition and a special sticker to wear.

Students recognized were:

Grade 4: Ragan Schank, Ronnie Delisle, Meghan Kaszubinski, Logan Lorello, Brydon Marcotte and Madison Webb.

Grade 3: Daniel Bell, Connor Brown, Michael Curtis, Isabelle Hamel, Sydney Orben, Jesse Pullen, Megan Roberts, Devyn Woodman, Summer Durham, Charlie Hamlyn, Malina Hoffman, Noah McDonough, Leo Orben, Elizabeth Randall, Ben Brown, Cameron Cole, Kaitlyn Daly, Francesca MacEwen, Eloise Ouellette, Isabella Randle, Thomas Spencer, and Tanner Tufts.

Grade 2: Colin Moody, Graeme Mertens, Grayson Mosher, Luke Boucher, Arianna Cogliano, Kayana Jacobson-Theriault, Jace Messer, Luke Heigelmann, Dylan Hudnall, Hannah Lilly, Sophia Ouellet, Raegan Petrus, Carson Vennard, and Ava Wheeler. Grade 1: Maverick Grover, Zoie Pelletier, Justin Spinney, Diana Krasteva, Kenzey Ricker-Geletka, Izabella Smith, Henry Bradish, Camellia Cantara, Robert Roche, Whitney Thomas, Joshua Watts, Sean Ahern, Vienna Cardinali, Logan Henry, Peyton Shepard, and Sophia Wilson.


Film festival’s program guide now available online

The Maine International Film Festival announced the release of its 2018 MIFF Program Guide at MIFF.org in advance of this year’s 21st annual event.

The guide contains a full list of festival films, with details on signature MIFF events and information on the festival’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Dominique Sanda.

The festival will be held July 13-22.

Chamber rewards students for perfect attendance

Mid-Maine Chamber of Commerce presented 19 Albert S. Hall School students with awards for perfect attendance for the 2017-2018 school year.

To have perfect attendance each student must not be tardy, have no unexcused or excused absences, and not have early release.

Grade 4: Amelia Berls, Felix Chapa, Derek Couture, Caleb Crowley, Rylee Derosby, Jayda Dunn, Daniel Joler, and Trevor Tardif .

Grade 5: Jazlynn Bouchard, Garrett Gendreau, Xavier Hamlin, Mariska Maguire, Cassidy Mathieu, Joel Retamozzo, Cade Rogers and Tobin Thibeau.

All were given gifts donated by local businesses as well as a Kindle.

Also, Benjamin Kitchin, Jennie Parkhill, and Allexandriea Small completed their second consecutive year with perfect attendance. Each received a one-week summer campership to the Alfond Youth Center’s Camp Tracy.


Bank program donates $500 to Camp Marland

Sanford Savings Institution recently donated $500 to YMCA Camp Marland, as part of the bank’s employee donation program. It will be used to add or update accommodations and facilities at the camp.

Camp Marland, for children entering grades 2 through 7, is located on Bunganut Lake in Lyman.