HANK DUVALL, Senior-Lacrosse

  • All-American

  • WMC All-Star, first-team

  • Senior All-Star

  • Captain

Duvall was the steady senior presence, and one of two prolific goal scorers, on a Flyers team that made history, winning the inaugural Class C state title.

Duvall started playing lacrosse in the third grade and came to the sport naturally.

“My Mom’s side of the family played and I fell in love with lacrosse from the get-go,” Duvall said. “It’s just fun.”

Duvall came to Waynflete for middle school and joined the Flyers varsity as a freshman. He scored 12 goals and 12 assists that first season and he led the team in scoring as a sophomore. As a junior, Duvall made the all-conference, second-team.

This spring, he absolutely dazzled, scoring 54 goals and dishing out 29 assists.

Duvall scored four goals in a season-opening loss to Cape Elizabeth, tickled the twine seven times in a win over Wells, had four goals, including the winner late against Deering, had five goals and five assists in a victory over Cony and scored four goals in a pivotal overtime victory over Yarmouth.

Duvall scored 14 more goals during the Flyers’ run to the Class C state title, producing four in a state quarterfinal round victory over Oak Hill, three in a semifinal round win at North Yarmouth Academy, then, with teammate Miles Lipton doing the same, scored a state-record-tying seven goals in a decisive state game win over Lincoln Academy.

“It was so cool to celebrate a championship,” Duvall said. “It meant so much to win as a senior. We talked about expectations and pressure, but there was no stopping us. The Yarmouth win was huge. It’s the first time we’ve had the depth to hang with a team like that. It was an amazing year.”

Duvall also was a mentor to younger students at Reiche School. He plans to play lacrosse at Union College, in Schenectady, New York, next year.

Hank Duvall, Waynflete’s Spring Male Athlete of the Year, had a senior season to remember, punctuated by an epic state game performance. His efforts will long be hailed.

Coach Parker Repko’s comment: “Each year, Hank has returned as an improved player and better leader. His stats are a testament to that work. He has always put the team first. He balances his leadership style between leading by example and leading with his voice. Every player looks to him to set the tone with his high-energy play and they listen to him when he brings the team together for a huddle in practices and in games. He had a positive and direct impact on everything we accomplished this season. We’ll miss him next year, but he’ll be remembered for helping to make this season one for the record books.”

Previous winners:

2017 Brandon Ameglio (tennis)

2016 Will Nelligan (lacrosse)

2015 Isaac Salas (tennis)

2014 Isaac Salas (tennis)

2013 Andrew Butler (baseball)

2012 Chris Burke (lacrosse)

2011 Charlie Laprade (baseball)

2010 Brandon Thompson (tennis)

2009 Brandon Thompson (tennis)

2008 Brandon Thompson (tennis)

2007 David Cutler (lacrosse)

2006 Ben Whipple (tennis)

2005 Reid McMullan (lacrosse)

2004 Matt Lacasse (track)


IZZY BURDICK, Senior-Lacrosse

  • WMC All-Star, first-team

  • WMC All-Academic

  • Senior All-Star

  • Captain

Burdick was well known for her ability to put the ball in the net, but this spring, she became a defensive stalwart as well and helped the Flyers remain one of the most competitive programs around.

Burdick spent her whole academic life at Waynflete and started playing lacrosse in the third grade. She grew up watching the Flyers win championships behind standouts like Sadie Cole and Martha Veroneau and dreamed of wearing a Waynflete uniform herself.

“Lacrosse was always the sport I was best at and in high school, it became my favorite,” Burdick said. “I loved watching Sadie and Martha and those (2012 and 2013 championship) teams. They were just the coolest people to me and they were so nice to me.”

Burdick realized her dream and joined the Flyers varsity as a freshman, making an immediate impact, scoring three goals in a season-opening win at North Yarmouth Academy. She was a key member of a playoff-bound team each of her first three years, but it was her senior season, where Burdick shined the brightest.

Burdick scored 28 goals, added 32 assists and collected 29 ground balls, but those numbers were only part of her story, as she played every position but goalie over the course of the season. 

“Izzy did a great job for us as a middie this season,” said longtime Waynflete coach Cathie Connors. “She’s an offensive and defensive threat and was crucial in transition. She was always willing to play anywhere we needed her, even at a moment’s notice. She was key in defending the midfield, where she would come up with game-changing interceptions or ground balls. She’s relentless on defense. She takes the game seriously and held her teammates to the same standard.”

Burdick had the game-winner in overtime at York in the opener, scored a goal and had two assists in a victory over Cheverus, two goals and four assists in a win over Marshwood, five goals and five assists in a victory over Wells, four goals in a loss to Freeport and four goals in a loss to Yarmouth. She scored one final goal in a heartbreaking one-goal loss to Greely in the Class B quarterfinals.

“When we played a full game, we showed who we were as a team,” Burdick said. “The seniors played together since sixth grade. I made some really good friends.”

Burdick, who also played four years of soccer and basketball in high school, volunteered with younger students at Reiche School and belonged to Waynflete’s Community Service Club. She will next attend Wellesley College in Massachusetts and will continue to play lacrosse.

Izzy Burdick, Waynflete’s Spring Female Athlete of the Year, was synonymous with the program during her four years and capped her high school career with a senior season to remember.

Coach Cathie Connors’ comment: “Izzy put a lot of extra time in over the years in working on her skills and it clearly paid off. She’s unselfish, which was evidenced by all the assists she had this season. She took her role as a senior leader very seriously. She’s been very generous with helping younger players. We’ll miss her ‘ready and willing to play anywhere or do anything for the team’ attitude next year.”

Previous winners:

2017 Abby Pipkin (track)

2016 Nina Moore (lacrosse)

2015 Helen Gray-Bauer (lacrosse)

2014 Emily White (tennis)

2013 Sadie Cole (lacrosse)

2012 Martha Veroneau (lacrosse)

2011 Scout Haffenreffer (lacrosse)

2010 Morgan Woodhouse (lacrosse)

2009 Christine Ordway (tennis)

2008 Laura Armstrong (lacrosse)

2007 Christine Ordway (tennis)

2006 Christine Ordway (tennis)

2005 Gretchen Koch (lacrosse)

2004 Lily Hoffman (lacrosse)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Hank Duvall

Izzy Burdick