SCARBOROUGH — Fifteen candidates returned nomination papers to fill five seats on the Board of Education, while four people are seeking two seats on the Town Council.

The deadline for candidates to file was Wednesday, Sept. 5.

On the School Board, Chairwoman Mary Starr decided not to seek re-election and longtime board member Jackie Perry is termed out. Donna Beeley was recalled in a special May election, when two, one-year terms were also left vacant by the ouster of Cari Lyford and Jodi Shea. 

Amy Glidden and Emily Read are seeking Lyford’s seat, and Benjamin Howard, Stacey Neumann and Alicia Giftos are running for the remainder of Shea’s term. 

Candidates for full, three-year terms on the School Board are Jonathan Cloutier, Leroy Crockett, Nicholas Gill, Betsy Gleysteen, Lori Lavoie, Sarah Leighton, Michael Marcello, Annalee Rosenblatt, April Sither and Quinn Stewart, according to the town clerk’s office. 

Sither, Glidden and Giftos are candidates supported by the Road to Renewal group, who pushed for the recall of Beeley, Shea and Lyford.  

Jonathan Dittmer, Donald Hamill, Paul Johnson and incumbent Councilor Robert Rowan are running to fill two three-year Town Council seats. One would replace incumbent Christopher Caiazzo, who is the Democratic candidate in House District 28.

Caiazzo served one, three-year term on the council, as has Rowan. 

Johnson was also active in the Road to Renewal movement, and is supported by that group. 

Juliette Laaka can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 106 or at [email protected] Follow her on Twitter @JulietteLaaka.