WISCASSET — The 2018 season at Wiscasset Speedway is winding down and points championships are finally getting settled.

Group 1 was in action Saturday night with three of the four divisions extremely close and one all but a formality.

In the ServPro of Biddeford/Saco Prostocks, Andy Saunders of Ellsworth picked up the win. He grabbed an early lead and held off Sidney’s Kevin Douglass to the checkers.

Wiscasset’s Nick Hinkley easily wrapped up his first Prostock championship. It the third championship of his career, bumping his father Harold Hinkley’s total up to nine championships as a car owner over the past 25 years.

The Maxwell’s Market Super Streets points battle was close as Jefferson’s Mike Hodgkins and Durham’s Michael Harrison rolled onto the track for their final feature tied atop the standings. The two raced to the lead pack and were inseparable for the first 21 laps of the 25-lap feature. Things took a major turn on lap 22 as Hodgkins tangled with Jason Oakes in turn 3, sending both to the back of the pack for the restart. Two more cautions bunched things up and brought Hodgkins back into contention, while Harrison was comfortably in second.

Defending champ Josh Bailey took the checkers for his third win of the season.

Harrison chased him across the line to claim the division crown. Hodgkins, who had been awarded August Driver of the Month honors earlier in the show, finished the race in fourth.

In the 25-lap feature for the Cahill Tire 4-Cylinder Prostocks, the division’s top winner Hayden Norris and defending champ Max Rowe put on a great battle for the win, with Rowe coming out on top for his second victory of the season.

The division title came down to veteran racers Jeff Prindall and Larry Melcher, separated by just six points on the final day. Prindall sealed the deal with a fourth-place finish to pick up his first championship.

The Thunder 4 Mini Division was another close one with Pownal’s Michael Golding holding a scant two-point advantage over Wiscasset’s Noah Haggett as the green flag flew on their 25-lap feature. Things took a major turn on the first lap of the race, with Golding getting collected in a wreck in the back of the pack. He had to head to the pits with radiator problems and did not return until he was five laps down.

Haggett took advantage and turned in a second-place finish to secure his first championship. Despite not having a feature win, Haggett captured the title by being the only driver on all four Group 1 divisions to finish in the top 5 in every race this season.

David Cook of Jay took the feature win following post-race inspection, where the original winner was issued a three-position penalty for a motor mount infraction.

The Amsoil NELCAR Legends made its seventh and final appearance of the season. Jake Matheson of Hillsboro, New Hampshire, picked up his first win, leading the 25-lapper feature wire to wire.

Wiscasset Speedway returns to action this upcoming Saturday with the Group 2 championship night. Titles will be up for grabs in three of the four remaining divisions, including Late Models, Modifieds and Outlaw Minis. The Strictly Street Division wrapped up its points season earlier. However, the division will have center stage with the sixth annual Amsoil Dominator Strictly Shootout. It’s a 50-lap main event that attracts many of the top Strictly Street, Wildcat and Outlaw racers in the region.

Pit gates will open at noon, grandstand gate at 2 p.m., and racing action will begin at 4 p.m. Admission, as always, is $5 for the grandstands side with kids 6-and-under free. Pitside admission is $20 for all.

For the full race day schedule and other information, go to the track website at www.wiscassetspeedway.com.

Comments are not available on this story.