CUMBERLAND – The South Regional Cross Country Championships were held Saturday at Twin Brook Recreational Center.

In the Class B South 5K boys race, Freeport’s Martin Horne captured the individual title, finishing in 16:56.11, over six seconds ahead of Cape Elizabeth’s Jack Bassett (17:02.35). Griffin Allaire of Wells was third, followed by Lincoln Academy’s Sam Russ and Jarrett Gulden.

Overall, York and Cape Elizabeth tied with 82 points apiece. The Wildcats were awarded the title, with both teams’ No. 6 runner deciding things.

Freeport, just behind York and Cape with 84 points, was third, followed by Lincoln Academy (92), Yarmouth (125) and Wells (136).

In the girls run, Freeport’s Lily Horne claimed second-place overall. Freeport’s top runner and Lila Gaudrault of Cape Elizabeth stayed close throughout the race, with Gaudrault edging Horne, 19:34.77-19:38.61.

Caper Camilla Grosso was third, with Wells runners Kate Pinette and Heidi Fortin in fourth and fifth, respectively.

York made it a sweep as the girls captured the regional title with 69 points, edging Cape (73), Yarmouth (89), Wells (97) and Freeport (115).

The State Class B Championships will be held at Troy Howard Middle School in Belfast on Saturday.

Class C

Maranacook and Maine Coast-Waldorf put on a two-team race in both the boys and girls runs.

In the girls race, Maranacook edged Maine Coast-Waldorf, 50-54, with Waynflete (96) in third, Monmouth in fourth (123) and Traip Academy (125) in fifth.

Wiscasset/Boothbay just missed out qualifying for the state meet, taking sixth with 136 points.

Olivia Reynolds of Maine Coast-Waldorf won the individual title in 20:15.78.

Qualifying for the state run individually were Boothbay/Wiscasset’s Faith Blethen (fourth) and Glory Blethen (seventh), along with Richmond’s Leah Wescott (13th).

Maine Coast-Waldorf took home the boys team title, slipping past Maranacook with 70 points compared to 84 for the Black Bears.

The Boothbay/Wiscasset and Lisbon boys qualified for Saturday’s State Class C Championship, with the Seahawk/Wolverine contingent taking third with 106 points and the Greyhounds finishing fourth with 134.

Henry Spritz of Waynflete claimed the individual title in 17:40.40, with Maranacook’s Luke Bartol in second.

Lisbon’s David Schlotterbeck took third in 18:16.10. Boothbay/Wiscasset’s Will Perkins was sixth in 18:22.25.

Comments are not available on this story.