PORTLAND — Democrats won all of the city’s 10 seats in the Legislature on Tuesday, with each victor claiming at least 70 percent of the vote.

In Senate District 27, where incumbent Sen. Ben Chipman was challenged by independent Crystal Canney, Chipman easily won the district covering the eastern portion of the city and Casco Bay islands, 14,700 to 4,949.

In Senate District 28, Democratic Rep. Heather Sanborn was unopposed in her campaign to replace Sen. Mark Dion, also a Democrat. Dion ran unsuccessfully for governor in the June 12 Democratic primary. The district covers the north and west of the city and a portion of Westbrook.

In House District 36, where independent Rep. Denise Harlow could not seek re-election because of term limits, former legislator and Mayor Michael Brennan defeated Republican Samuel Ledue, 2,605 to 755, to return to Augusta. Brennan previously served in the Maine House and was Senate majority leader.

The district extends from a small portion of Ocean Avenue between Walton and Read streets north and west to city boundaries with Westbrook and Falmouth.

In House District 37, extending to the city’s southern and western boundaries, Rep. Richard Farnsworth won his fourth term. He defeated independent Benjamin Pollard 2,961 to 389; Republican Jane Frey withdrew from the race in September.


Rep. Matt Moonen won his fourth term in House District 38, facing no opposition. The district covers Portland’s West End.

In House District 39, covering the eastern part of the city peninsula and Casco Bay islands, Rep. Mike Sylvester won his second term, defeating Republican Peter Doyle, 4,215 to 659, in a rematch of the 2016 election.

Rep. Rachel Talbot Ross also won a second term, running unopposed in House District 40. The district covers Parkside and Bayside and extends along Forest Avenue toward Back Cove and the University of Southern Maine.

In House District 41, covering Deering Center, Rep. Erik Jorgensen won a fourth term. His opponent, Dr. James Azzola, withdrew from the race in August after moving out of the district.

Rep. Ben Collings won his second term in House District 42, beating Republican Susan Abercrombie, 3,269 to 943, in a rematch of the 2016 election. The district extends from Back Cove through East Deering to the city boundary with Falmouth, and north and west along Washington Avenue to Allen Avenue.

In House District 43, which covers northern Portland near Allen Avenue and a portion of Falmouth, Democrat Edward Crockett will replace Sanborn in a seat she held for one term. Crockett was unopposed.


David Harry can be reached at 780-9092 or [email protected] Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

Democratic state Sen. Ben Chipman greets voters at St. Pius Chruch on Ocean Avenue in Portland on Tuesday, Nov. 6. He easily won a second term in Senate District 27.

Rep. Mike Sylvester, left, greets a resident Tuesday at East End Community School. Sylvester was part of the city Democratic sweep of Legislature seats, winning a second term in House District 39.




Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.