Scarborough’s boys’ cross country team enjoyed another triumphant fall, winning the Class A state title for the ninth time in 15 years.

While the Red Storm always have great runners, it’s the coach who has established the dynasty and in light of Scarborough’s long-time success, Jim Harmon gets The Forecaster’s nod as our Southern edition Fall Coach of the Year, of a boys’ team.

Harmon was also selected in 2004.

Harmon took over the Scarborough boys’ team in 1998 and has led the Red Storm to the state meet 20 years running. Harmon led the Red Storm to Class A championships in 2004, 2005 and 2006, another title in 2008 and back-to-back crowns in 2010 and 2011 and 2014 and 2015. After Scarborough finished second in 2017, the Red Storm returned to the pinnacle again this fall.

With Jim Harmon, our Southern edition boys’ team Fall Coach of the Year, at the helm, the hardware figures to continue to roll in.

Prior winners:

2017 Lance Johnson (Scarborough football)

2016 Lance Johnson (Scarborough football)

2015 Chris Whitney (Cape Elizabeth golf)

2014 Mike Murphy (Scarborough golf)

2013 Mark Diaz (Scarborough soccer)

2012 Derek Veilleux (Cape Elizabeth cross country)

2011 Steve Stinson (South Portland football)

2010 Lance Johnson (Scarborough football)

2009 Aaron Filieo (Cape Elizabeth football)

2008 Mark Diaz (Scarborough soccer)

2007 Steve Stinson (South Portland football)

2006 Aaron Filieo (Cape Elizabeth football)

2005 Mark Diaz (Scarborough soccer)

2004 Jim Harmon (Scarborough cross country)

2003 Mark Diaz (Scarborough soccer)

2002 Jack Flynn (Scarborough football)

2001 Jack Flynn (Scarborough football)



Forsyth inherited a talented team that was expected to win and while the Capers always got their opponents’ best, win was all they did as they rolled to a perfect Class B state title.

Getting the job done when you’re expected to do so is never easy, but Forsyth got the most out of a talented group and for his effort, he’s earned The Forecaster’s nod as our Southern edition Fall Coach of the Year, of a girls’ team.

Forsyth’s resume got everyone’s attention. He played professionally in Scotland before coming to Maine, where he’s served as the Premier Director with the Global Premier Soccer program. 

Forsyth replaced Craig Fannan as the Capers’ coach this year and after reaching the regional final in 2017, Cape Elizabeth was expected to win the championship. The Capers didn’t disappoint.

Cape Elizabeth posted a 14-0 record for the first time, outscoring the opposition, 50-2. As the top seed in Class B South, the Capers were tested by Gray-New Gloucester, Yarmouth and York in the regional playoffs, but managed to advance. In the state final, against underdog Presque Isle, Cape Elizabeth hit the crossbar four separate times in the first half and fell behind, 1-0, in the second half, but thanks to the heroics of Karli Chapin, the Capers rallied to win it in overtime, capturing their first title since 2013.

“We had the heart and desire and the girls wanted it so bad since the first session of summer,” Forsyth said. “We kept trying when things didn’t go our way. The girls were excellent all year. I could rely on them.”

“Coach would always say, ‘One game at a time,'” said Cape Elizabeth senior standout Prezli Piscopo. “He got us to focus and connected really well with us. He made practices fun.”

It won’t always come this easily, but there figures to be more championships in the future for Cape Elizabeth, especially with Graham Forsyth, our Fall girls’ team Coach of the Year leading the way.

Prior winners:

2017 Sarah Boeckel (Cape Elizabeth volleyball)

2016 Maura Bisogni (Cape Elizabeth field hockey)

2015 Jon Roberts (Scarborough volleyball)

2014 Sarah Boeckel (Cape Elizabeth volleyball)

2013 Craig Fannan (Cape Elizabeth soccer)

2012 Mike Farley (Scarborough soccer)

2011 Jon Roberts (Scarborough volleyball)

2010 Mike Farley (Scarborough soccer)

2009 Kerry Mariello (Scarborough field hockey)

2008 Ron Kelly (Scarborough cross country)

2007 Kerry Mariello (Scarborough field hockey)

2006 Jody King (Scarborough volleyball)

2005 Mary Ann Doss (Cape Elizabeth cross country)

2004 Kerry Mariello (Scarborough field hockey)

2003 Mary Ann Doss (Cape Elizabeth cross country)

2002 Maureen Curran (South Portland field hockey)

2001Erin McLaughlin (Scarborough field hockey)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.