Zack Allocca, Bonny Eagle senior: Allocca won the Class A triple jump (42 feet, 4¼ inches) and finished second in the long jump (20-6¼).

Zachary Beaton, Hermon senior: Beaton was a double-winner at the Class B state meet, taking titles in the high jump (6-2) and 200 (23.27 seconds). He also placed second in the 55 hurdles (7.95).

Anthony Clavette, Scarborough senior: Clavette beat Brunswick’s Samuel Cenescar on fewer misses to win the Class A high jump (6-4) for the second straight year and also finished fourth in the triple jump (41-2½). Earlier in the season, he set the school record in the high jump (6-5¼).

Jarett Flaker, Scarborough junior: Flaker broke his own state record in the 55 meters (6.46) and also won the 200 (22.65) and 400 (50.20) at the Class A state meet. He finished fifth in the 300 (35.14) at New Englands.

Jack Hansen, Belfast junior: Hansen won the long jump (21-8½) and pole vault (13-0) at the Class B state meet.

Ben Hatch, Scarborough junior: Hatch helped Scarborough win its eighth Class A championship in nine years by placing first in the long jump (21-1), and fourth in the 55 (6.64).


Jason Montano, Thornton Academy senior: Montano broke a 42-year-old conference record by heaving the shot put 63 feet at the SMAA championships, won the Class A championship (62-0¼), then improved on his all-time Maine best with a second-place throw of 63-2½ at New Englands.

Mahamed Sharif, Westbrook junior: Sharif ran the fastest times in the state in both the 800 and 1,000. He won the 800 (1:55.45) at the Class A state meet and was third in the 1,000 at New Englands (2:31.89).

Travis Snyder, Thornton Academy senior: Snyder set an all-time Maine best in winning the pole vault (16-7) at the Class A championships. He also took second in the 55 hurdles (7.96) and fourth in the long jump (20-4).

Alec Troxell, Deering senior: Troxell placed second in both the mile (4:27.88) and 2-mile (9:54.30) at the Class A state meet. His mile time of 4:22.36 at the New England championships was the fastest by a Maine runner this season.


Ted Hutch, York: The Wildcats got better-than-seeded performances from numerous athletes to win the Class B state championship for the fifth time in eight years. Seniors Jon Burke (55 hurdles), Jon Rodrigues (triple jump) and Nick Rainforth (400) won events in which they weren’t the No. 1 seed. Rainforth and Trevor Lavigne were seeded second and eighth in the 400 but finished 1-2, and Ben Hay placed second in the high jump despite entering as the No. 15 seed.

– Bob Aube

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.