Deering’s Ben Onek and Portland’s Pedro Fonseca were two of the top players in Class AA boys’ basketball this winter.

Cheverus’ Lauren Jordan was named to the SMAA girls’ all-conference team.

Waynflete’s Dominick Campbell was selected as a top player in the Western Maine Conference.

The basketball season was one of triumph in Forecaster Country and several local standouts were named to postseason all-star teams.

Deering standout Ben Onek was named the Player of the Year in the Southwestern Maine Activities Association.

Portland’s Pedro Fonseca, along with South Portland’s Tyree Bitjoka, earned SMAA Co-Defensive Player of the Year recognition.

Cheverus’ Nick Galli and Portland’s Trey Bellew made the All-SMAA second-team.

The third-team featured Deering’s Darryl Germain.

SMAA honorable mention all-stars included Portland’s Fonseca and Simon Chadbourne.

Cheverus’ Matt Duchaine, Deering’s Onek and Portland’s Bellew, Chadbourne and Fonseca took part in the SMAA boys’ Senior All-Star Game.

The SMAA boys’ All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Matt Duchaine, Ryan Flaherty, Cam Harris, Richard Joyce and Connor Morrison and Deering’s Luke Hill.

Class AA North produced an all-region team.

The first-team included Cheverus’ Galli, Deering’s Onek and Portland’s Chadbourne. 

Deering’s Germain and Portland’s Bellew were named to the second-team. 

Cheverus’ Connor Morrison and Nolan Sanborn, along with Deering’s Mpore Semehouza, were chosen for the All-Rookie team.

Cheverus’ Akera Oryem and Portland’s Lewis Gaddas made the All-Defensive team.

Portland’s Joe Russo was chosen as the Class AA North boys’ Coach of the Year.

In the Western Maine Conference, Waynflete junior Solomon Levy and sophomore Dominick Campbell made the first-team.

Waynflete seniors Finn Scott and Alex Saade and junior Askar Houssein were chosen for the second-team.

Waynflete’s Alex Saade qualified for the WMC All-Academic team, posting a grade point average of 93 or higher through seven semesters.

Waynflete’s Saade, Scott and Musaid Mohammed took part in the WMC Senior All-Star Game.

Deering’s Onek also represented the Class AA/A/B North team in the Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star Game and was a finalist for the prestigious Mr. Maine Basketball Award, given to the state’s top senior player (Bangor’s Matt Fleming was the winner).

Cheverus’ Matt Duchaine, Cam Harrison and Richard Joyce qualified for the Maine McDonald’s boys’ All-State All-Academic team.

On the girls’ side, the SMAA Class AA first-team included Deering’s Delaney Haines. 

Cheverus’ Lauren Jordan and Portland’s Amanda Kabantu and Gemima Motema were named to the second-team.

Portland’s Kabantu also made the SMAA All-Defensive team.

Deering’s Haines and Portland’s Jill Joyce played in the SMAA Senior All-Star Game.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Meg Kelly, Deering’s Isabel Dawson, Victoria Garand and Ashleigh Mathisen and Portland’s Jill Joyce and Grace Stacey.

The Class AA North all-region first-team included Deering’s Haines.

Cheverus’ Jordan and Portland’s Kabantu made the second-team.

Cheverus’ Ella Davie and Lillie Singleton and Portland’s Elizabeth Yugu made the All-Region All-Rookie team.

Portland’s Kabantu was named to the All-Region All-Defensive team.

In the WMC, Waynflete’s Emi Boedeker made the second-team.

Deering’s Delaney Haines also played in the Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star Game and was a semifinalist for the Miss Maine Basketball Award, which was won by Greely’s Anna DeWolfe.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.