Cape Elizabeth’s Ricky Perruzzi was a WMC all-star in the boys’ indoor track two-mile.

Scarborough’s Calynn Gendreau was named to the South Region girls’ hockey all-star team after helping the Red Storm reach the regional final.

The winter sports season is in the rear-view mirror, but many Forecaster Country athletes made their mark throughout and were named to postseason all-star teams.

Here’s a recap:

Boys’ hockey

Several boys’ hockey players from Scarborough and the South Portland/Freeport/Waynflete co-op team were named to the Class A All-State squad. The first-team featured Scarborough forward Nolan Mathews and defenseman Ethan Jasa.

Scarborough forward Patrick Clonan and South Portland forwards Gus Lappin and Bradley McMains made the All-State second-team. 

Scarborough’s Jacob Brown was named the Class A South Coach of the Year.

Scarborough’s Clonan and Callaghan Berry represented the South in the Class A Senior All-Star Game.

In Class B South, Cape Elizabeth forward Gavin Simopoulos made the second-team.

Cape Elizabeth forward Phil Tarling, defenseman Jackson Woods and goalie Garrett Mello were named to the third-team.

Cape Elizabeth forward Matt Laughlin was an honorable mention selection.

Cape Elizabeth’s Mello, Tarling, Woods, Brendan Goss and Stephen Murray played in the Class B Senior All-Star Game.

Cape Elizabeth’s Tarling was a finalist for the Evans Spear Award, given to the top senior player in Class B South (goalie Will Hays of Maranacook was the winner).

Girls’ hockey

On the girls’ side, forward Sophia Venditti of the Cape Elizabeth/Waynflete/South Portland co-op team and Scarborough defender Courtney Brochu were named to the All-State squad.

Cape Elizabeth/Waynflete/SP forwards Nicoletta Coupe and Koto Yamada and defender Abbey Agrodnia, along with Scarborough forwards Calynn Gendreau, Evelyn Boardman and Taylor Veilleux and defender Maya Sellinger, were named to the South Region all-star team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Venditti and Scarborough’s Brochu were semifinalists for the Becky Schaffer Award, given to the state’s top senior player. Venditti became a finalist, but the award was given to St. Dom’s’ Avery Lutrzykowski.

Indoor track

The Southwestern Maine Activities Association boys’ indoor track all-conference first-team included Jayden Flaker (junior hurdles), Jarett Flaker (senior 55, senior 200 and senior 400), Anthony Clavette (senior high jump), Noah Drapeau (600), Tristram Coffin (two-mile) and the 4×200 relay (Jarett Flaker, Salvator DeBenedetto, Ben Hatch and Drapeau) and 4×800 relay (John Goff, Connor Coffin, Harrison Osborne and Eric LoSacco) from Class A state champion Scarborough. 

Scarborough’s Alex Callahan (junior triple jump), Hatch (senior 55 and senior long jump), Clavette (senior triple jump) and South Portland’s Amir Broadus (junior shot put) made the second-team.

Scarborough’s Jayden Flaker (junior 200 and junior 400), Zach Barry (junior 800), Mason Herlein (junior triple jump), Drapeau (senior 800) and Clavette (senior hurdles) and South Portland’s Joseph Emery (senior high jump) qualified for the third-team.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Scarborough’s Anthony Clavette, Brian Farino, Anthony Gatti, John Goff, Andrew Granzier, Nolan Lamontagne, Joseph Lane, Michael LeGage, Brandon L’Heureux, Peter Martin and Parker Todd and South Portland’s Joseph Emery.

The SMAA girls’ first team included Scarborough’s Emily Labbe (senior hurdles) and Anna Gardner (pole vault) and South Portland’s Rebekah Hunnewell-Dunphe (senior shot put).

The girls’ second-team included Scarborough’s Labbe (senior 200) and Madison Marinko (senior hurdles) and South Portland’s Anne Von Seggern (junior high jump). 

Scarborough’s Annie Wright (junior hurdles) and South Portland’s Tianna Greaves (junior shot put) qualified for the third-team.

Scarborough’s Gwyneth Barry, Anna Black, Sydney Bloom, Gina Carbone, Ryan Connolly, Madison Diaz and Megan Kayser and South Portland’s Kimona Jenkins and Rhode Niangasa Phambu qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

In the Western Maine Conference, Cape Elizabeth’s Darcy Cochran (hurdles) made the girls’ first-team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Ricky Perruzzi (two-mile) made the boys’ second-team.

The boys’ all-state first-team included Scarborough’s Clavette, Jarett Flaker and Hatch.

Scarborough’s Coffin and Drapeau made the second-team.

The girls’ all-state first-team included Cape Elizabeth’s Cochran and Scarborough’s Gardner.

Scarborough’s Labbe and South Portland’s Hunnewell-Dunphe made the second-team.


Cape Elizabeth’s Class B state champion girls’ team had a big presence on the Southwestern all-star team. Capers honored included Ali Bragg (100 breaststroke, 500 freestyle and 200 medley relay), Hope Campbell (50 freestyle, 100 freestyle, medley relay and 200 free relay), Alicia Lawrence (50 freestyle, 100 freestyle, 200 free relay and 400 free relay), Jade Lindeneau (100 butterfly, 500 freestyle and 400 free relay), Caroline Mahoney (50 freestyle, 100 backstroke, medley relay and 200 free relay) and Olivia Tighe (100 freestyle, 200 freestyle, medley relay and 400 free relay). Also making the team were Scarborough’s Leah Desveaux (200 free relay and 400 free relay) and South Portland’s Margaret Jones (200 freestyle) and Kiley Matthews (400 free relay). 

The girls’ All-State team included Cape Elizabeth’s Bragg (100 breaststroke), Campbell (medley relay and 200 free relay), Lawrence (100 free, 200 free relay and 400 free relay), Lindeneau (500 free), Mahoney (50 free, 100 backstroke, medley relay and 200 free relay) and Tighe (100 free, 200 free, 200 free relay and 400 free relay).

The boys’ squad included Cape Elizabeth’s Rohan Freedman (100 freestyle, 200 freestyle, 200 free relay and 400 free relay), Keegan McKenney (500 freestyle, 200 individual medley, medley relay), Ethan Smith (50 freestyle, 100 butterfly, medley relay, 200 free relay and 400 free relay) and Matt Yost (200 free relay), Scarborough’s Sam Curtis (100 backstroke) and Gavin McLeod (200 freestyle and 500 freestyle) and South Portland’s Dennis Slobodzian (200 free relay and 400 free relay). 

The boys’ All-State team featured Cape Elizabeth’s Freedman (200 free and 400 free relay), McKenney (500 free) and Smith (100 butterfly and medley relay), Scarborough’s McLeod (500 free) and South Portland’s Slobodzian (400 free relay).


The WMC boys’ Alpine skiing all-star team included Killian Lathrop, Tiernan Lathrop, Devon Lathrop, Cody Labonty and Gannon Stewart of state champion Cape Elizabeth.

Cape Elizabeth’s Dana Schwartz made the WMC girls’ Alpine all-star team.

On the Nordic side of things, Cape Elizabeth’s Peter DiNinno made the boys’ all-star team.


The SMAA wrestling all-star first-team included Scarborough’s Addison Boisvert (285 pounds).

Scarborough’s Elijah Holbrook (145) made the second-team.

Scarborough’s Boisvert and Holbrook also qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.


Scarborough’s Brooke Edgecomb and South Portland’s Marcus Swiderek made the SMAA cheering first-team.

Scarborough’s Alexia Smith was named to the second-team.

Scarborough’s Ungara Farris and Adrianna Miller and South Portland’s Madison Wilburn and Amy Zarate were honorable mention selections.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports

Comments are not available on this story.