Residents of the Lakes Region voted Tuesday, June 11, in local elections, for school budgets and on town ordinance questions. Here’s a roundup of the results.


An incumbent and a political newcomer were victorious in a six-way race for two three-year seats on the Bridgton Planning Board.

Incumbent Vice Chairwoman Deborah Brusini received the most votes with 453, and Gregory Watkins won 311 votes to secure the second spot.

Incumbents Diane Paul and Douglas Oakley, who are currently alternates on the board, received 49 and 164 votes, respectively.

Samantha Zawistowski won 135 votes, and Daniel Harden got 233.

There were 25 miscellaneous write-ins and 204 blank ballots.

Paul Tworog was elected to a three-year term as an alternate after receiving 31 write-in votes.

In the contested Water District trustee race, incumbent Wesley Gorman defeated Catherine DiPietro 378-287.

In uncontested races, incumbent and current vice chairman Glenn Zaidman was re-elected to a three-year Selectboard seat with 644 votes.

Incumbent Debra Albert won a three-year term as an SAD 61 director with 591 votes. Gary Colello received 18 write-in votes and was also elected to a three-year term. Incumbent Sharon Menegoni won a two-year seat with 550 votes.

Seven of the eight ordinance questions passed, except the Repeal of Town of Bridgton Affordable Housing Local Preference Ordinance.

Bridgton had 17.5% of its voters turn out on Tuesday.


Incumbents held their seats in Tuesday’s election in Casco.

Incumbents Mary Vienessa Fernandes and Thomas Peaslee retained their three-year Selectboard seats with 77 and 78 votes, respectively.

Incumbent Malcolm Stanley Buchanan was re-elected to a three-year SAD 61 school board seat with 87 votes.

Voter turnout in Casco was 3.3%.


A former town and city manager defeated the incumbent to win a five-year seat on the Gray Water District Board of Trustees Tuesday.

Mitchell Berkowitz has decades of experience serving as a town and city manager in Bridgton and Gray and in Colchester, Vermont and Berlin, New Hampshire.

He won 158 votes to defeat incumbent Michael Lessard, who received 152 votes. Zhenya Shevchenko won 109 votes.

Stephen Moriarty was victorious in the race for the House 45 seat recently vacated by Rep. Dale Denno. He defeated Kevin Hughes 68-47.

Anne Gass won a three-year seat on the Town Council with 366 votes. Incumbents Will Burrow and Amy Stone retained three-year seats on the SAD 15 Board of Directors with 322 and 349 votes, respectively.

Incumbent Dorothy Barton was elected to the balance of a three-year term on the Board of Directors with 403 votes, while Shad Hall won the balance of a three-year term with 387 votes.

The $27.8 million school budget was also approved 353-146.

All 12 budget warrant articles passed.


All incumbents remained in their positions after Tuesday’s election in Raymond.

Incumbents Rolf Olsen and Teresa Sadak retained three-year Selectboard seats with 161 and 137 votes, respectively.

Incumbent Janis Cummings won a three-year seat on the RSU 14 Board of Directors with 182 votes.

Joe Bruno and Karen Lockwood were written in for three-year terms on the Budget-Finance Committee with 33 and 23 votes, respectively.

The $48.54 million RSU 14 budget was also approved 158-59.

Raymond had 5.5% voter turnout June 11.


Windham voters approved RSU14’s $48.54 million budget 224-123 at the polls on Tuesday.

Windham had 2.6% voter turnout.

Jane Vaughan can be reached at 780-9103 or at [email protected]

Residents of Bridgton cast their votes on Tuesday.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.