Raymond White is presented with the Community Surgeon Achievement Award by from left, Michael McKee, Steven Rabin and David Teague during the Orthopaedic Trauma Association’s annual meeting. Courtesy

Portland doctor tapped for national recognition

Raymond White, M.D., of Maine Medical Partners – Orthopedics & Sports Medicine, was recently awarded the Community Surgeon Achievement Award of the year by the American Fracture Association and the Orthopaedic Trauma Association during the OTA’s annual meeting.

The OTA is made up of the leading orthopedic trauma surgeons from throughout the world with a mission to promote the highest level of care for injured patients. The AFA/OTA Community Surgeon Achievement Award recognizes orthopedic trauma surgeons who have demonstrated outstanding community orthopedic contributions, excellence in research and education at all community levels, and personal qualities of integrity, compassion and leadership in orthopedic trauma.

White is just the third person to receive this award.

Coffee by Design was named Macro Roaster of the Year by Roast magazine. From left are founders Mary Allen Lindemann and Alan Spear, Director of Coffee Jeremy Behne and Head Roaster Travis Spear. Tim Greenway

CBD named Roaster of the Year by industry magazine

Roast magazine announced its 2020 Roaster of the Year winners included Portland-based Coffee By Design in the macro roaster category.

This is the 16th year for Roast magazine’s Roaster of the Year awards. The submission process to be considered Roaster of the Year is comprehensive, with a written portion and a coffee submission portion, each professionally judged by the publication and members of the coffee industry.

Roast said in a prepared release that Coffee By Design is “growing their business with a focus on sustainable practices, quality standards, and social responsibility. The company has put a focus on sharing their knowledge and excitement about coffee, creating living-wage jobs with ample growth potential and training opportunities for its employees.”

Roast magazine awards its top honor in two categories: Micro Roaster of the Year, for companies roasting fewer than 100,000 pounds of coffee each year; and Macro Roaster of the Year, for companies roasting more than 100,000 pounds annually. Coffee By Design won in the macro roaster category with an output of 650,000 pounds. The micro roaster is based in San Diego.

The winning coffees submitted were the company’s birthday blend, 1994, the Costa Rica Tarrazu La Minita “Lilo” Anaerobic Fully Washed and the Burundi Kayanza Kibingo Washing Station Natural.

Alan Spear and Mary Allen Lindemann, co-founders and owners of Coffee By Design, said, “A lot of time and thought went into the submission process, and we’re grateful to have our work acknowledged in this way, especially this year, our 25th in business.”


Bridge Senior Living, a collection of senior living communities, announced this month that Atria Scarborough, a local senior living community, has transitioned into The Enclave of Scarborough, effective Oct. 8.


Cultivating Community in Portland has been awarded two federal grants totaling $640,000 for projects to build refugee agriculture in Maine and to support socially disadvantaged farmers.


Portland law firm Petruccelli, Martin & Haddow has been listed in the 13th edition of Benchmark Litigation as one of the leading litigation firms in Maine. Attorneys Gerald Petruccelli and James Haddow were individually recognized as Benchmark Litigation Stars in the U.S. in the practice areas of general commercial, insurance, intellectual property, product liability and professional liability.

The Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance announced that Kristine Snow Millard of Saco and Jill McLaughlin of Portland are the fall recipients of the 2019 Martin Dibner Memorial Fellowship for Maine Writers, a partnership between the Maine Community Foundation and the MWPA.

And the winners are …

Harvest on the Harbor 2019 Maine Lobster Chef of the Year Judges’ Choice goes to Jessica Werthen, Chebeague Island Inn, second from right. People’s Choice goes to Thomas Barthelmes, Central Provisions, at left. With them are judges Tracy Griffith and John Hathaway of sponsor Shucks Maine Lobster. Contributed

filed under: