David Douglass, left, and Nick Kalogerakis won seats on the Windham Town Council Tuesday.

WINDHAM — Windham’s new South District representative on the Town Council said he was “elated” by Tuesday’s election results.

“I can’t wait to get going,” said Nick Kalogerakis, a member of the Planning Board, who received 951 votes for the South District seat. 

Incumbent Donna Chapman received 749 and newcomer Gartay Yekeh received 204.

Incumbent Bob Muir was also defeated Nov. 5. David Douglass, chairman of the Planning Board, received 930 votes for the At-Large seat while Muir received 759. Charles Hawkins, Jr., who dropped out of the race, received 191 votes.

Voter turnout on Tuesday was 16 percent.

Kalogerakis said he was “very excited” to be a town councilor and looked forward to tackling challenging issues in town, such as recreational marijuana and the lack of a sewer in North Windham. 

“I’m humbled by the faith of the people to get me in office,” he said. “Donna has been serving in this capacity (on the Town Council) for nine years, which is a pretty strong track record of volunteering your time and working hard for the town.” 

Chapman said she sincerely wishes Kalogerakis the best of luck: “He won. I have no issues with Nick. So I’m OK with that and moving on.” 

Yekeh could not be reached for comment Wednesday. 

Douglass said he was surprised by how large his margin of victory was.

I’m very grateful to the people in the town of Windham, Douglass said. “I’d like to give a big thank you to the people of Windham for giving (Nick and I) this opportunity and a big thank to all the people who have served and weren’t re-elected. I look forward to being involved in the town in a bigger way.

Muir also thanked residents for giving him the opportunity to represent them: “I enjoy representing them, and it’s a great town. It’s been rewarding.

Both Douglass and Kalogerakis will serve three-year terms on the Town Council. They were scheduled to be sworn in on Thursday. 

They will have to resign from their Planning Board seats to serve on the council. Kalogerakis said the Planning Board will have a quorum even without him and Douglass while those seats are open.

Incumbent Town Councilor Jarrod Maxfield ran unopposed and retained his seat with 1,571 votes.

In the RSU 14 School Board uncontested races, incumbent Scott McLean retained his three-year seat with 1,135 votes, while Marge Govoni took the other three-year seat with 1,120 votes.

Jennie Butler won the two-year balance of a three-year term on the School Board with 1,640 votes.

Linda Morrell will remain in her two-year position of town clerk with 1,840 votes.


Comments are not available on this story.