Contributed photo

* Stag Award winner

* Hobey Baker Character Award winner

Header provided goals, leadership and stability for the newly formed Cheverus/Yarmouth boys’ hockey co-op team.

Long before suiting up in high school, Header, a forward, fell in love with the sport of hockey.

“I started playing hockey when I was about five-years old, skating on the rink my father built in our backyard for my brother (Wyatt) and I,” Header said. “What I love most about hockey is the friends and memories I’ve created along the way, as well as the drive to become the best player I can be.”

As a veteran, Header played a unique role this winter, as not only did Cheverus find itself with new teammates, but it did so during a pandemic, during an unorthodox, shortened season that didn’t feature any playoffs.

That didn’t matter to Header, who was Cheverus/Yarmouth’s top scorer, tallying nine goals and adding six assists. Perhaps his most impactful goal was the clincher in a “City Cup” victory over Portland/Deering,

Jackson Header, Cheverus’ Winter Male Athlete of the Year, has yet to make his college decision, but rest assured that he has left quite a legacy with his play on the ice for the Stags.

Coach Marco Giancotti’s comment: “Jackson led by example both on and off the ice. Jackson has played varsity hockey all four years and grew into one of the best forwards in the state. Jackson led the team in points and also led special teams this year, playing on both the power play and penalty kill.”

Previous winners:

2019-20 Quinton Hastings (swimming)

2018-19 Brim Peabody (swimming)

2017-18 Michael Hatch (hockey)

2016-17 Zeb Leavitt (wrestling)

2015-16 Michael O’Donovan (swimming)

2014-15 James Hannigan (hockey)

2013-14 Jake Dixon (track)

2012-13 Trebor Lawton (swimming)

2011-12 Trebor Lawton (swimming)

2010-11 Jack Terwilliger (track)

2009-10 Indiana Faithfull (basketball)

2008-09 Zander Markellos (skiing)

2007-08 Matt Libby (swimming)

2006-07 Matt Libby (swimming)

2005-06 Alex Arthur (hockey)

2004-05 Adam Horgan (hockey)

2003-04 Kevin Marchesi (hockey)


LUCIA POMPEO, Senior-Hockey

File photo.

Contributed photo.

  • Becky Schaffer Award winner (top senior girls’ hockey player in the state)
  • All-State
  • Captain

After starring as one of the state’s premier field hockey players in the fall, Pompeo made her mark on the ice this winter and was recognized as a standout without peer, an ideal way for her to depart the scene.

Pompeo, who was previously named Cheverus’ Fall Female Athlete of the Year this school year for field hockey, started playing field hockey and ice hockey at a young age and burst on to the high school scene in both sports as a freshman. While her sophomore ice hockey campaign was hindered by torn labrum, she was able to help the Stags to a state championship with a critical overtime goal in the regional semifinals. Pompeo then helped recruit enough players for the program to survive her junior season before dazzling this winter, during an abbreviated campaign.

Pompeo scored twice in the opener, an overtime loss to defending regional champion Cape Elizabeth/South Portland/Waynflete, then had three goals in a “City Cup” victory over Portland/Deering, two goals in a win over Biddeford, two more in a victory over Yarmouth/Freeport and three goals in a revenge win over Cape/SP/Waynflete.

Pompeo scored 60 goals during her four seasons on the ice (second in program annals) and finished with 80 points (which is good for third all-time). She was rewarded for her play and leadership by being named the Becky Schaffer Award winner, as the state’s finest senior female girls’ hockey player.

“It’s a great way to end my career,” Pompeo said. “I think this definitely puts the icing on the cake.”

Pompeo will play field hockey at Quinnipiac University in Hamden, Connecticut next year.

While she won’t be lacing up the skates any more, that doesn’t mean that Lucia Pompeo, Cheverus’ Winter Female Athlete of the Year, didn’t make her mark on the ice. There’s a pretty prestigious award now bearing her name that will forever remind us of her greatness.

Coach Scott Rousseau‘s comment: “Her career had its ups-and-downs, but I couldn’t be more proud of Lucia. Lucia was a terrific leader. She was the heart and soul of our team. I’ve been very, very lucky to get to be her coach. She was as great a leader in the locker room as she is a player. She’s very unselfish.”

Previous winners:

2019-20 Lauren Jordan (basketball and track)

2018-19 Victoria Bossong (track)

2017-18 Emma Gallant (track)

2016-17 Annesley Black (Alpine skiing)

2015-16 Emily Turner (track)

2014-15 Abby Longstaff (swimming)

2013-14 Sarah Nappo (swimming)

2012-13 Brooke Flaherty (basketball)

2011-12 Fiona Hendry (track)

2010-11 Caroline Summa (track)

2009-10 Saundrine Lanouette (hockey)

2008-09 Caroline Summa (track)

2007-08 Jessica Groth (track)

2006-07 Jessica Groth (track)

2005-06 Caitlin Barber (Alpine skiing)

2004-05 Jill Horan (swimming)

2003-04 Alana Van Loenen (track)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter:@foresports.

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: