Early in-person absentee voting for the June 8 is underway in Portland from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday at in the Merrill Auditorium Box Office lobby.

The ballot for the June 8 election includes 21 candidates for the city Charter Commission. Voters will also weigh in on the $125.2 million school budget for the 2021-2022 school year.

The 13-member Charter Commission will review and possibly suggest changes to the city charter, the 37-page document that dictates how the city government is organized and run.

Shamika Stewart-Bouley, Karen Snyder and David Cowie are running to represent District 1 on the commission and Robert O’Brien is running to represent District 2. Voters in District 3 will have their choice between Zach Barowitz, Brian Batson and Charles Bryon, and voters in District 4 will chose from Marques Houston and Cheryl Leeman. Running in District 5 are Ryan Lizanecz and Mony Hang.

Voters will chose four at-large representatives. Candidates for those positions include Marpheen Chann, Nasreen Sheikh-Yousef, Benjamin Grant, Lawson Condrey, Steven DiMillo, Patricia Washburn, Anthony Emerson, Ian Houseal, William Bailey and Catherine Buxton.

Those elected June 8 will join Michael Kebede, Peter Eglinton and Dory Waxman, who were appointed by the council in August.

The school budget is up $5.3 million, or 4.4%, over the current year’s budget and includes $2.9 million in new spending to improve equity and address other district priorities. The new budget  would raise the school tax rate by 62 cents.

Absentee ballots are available by filling out an online form, by calling 874-8667 or emailing [email protected] The deadline to do so is June 4.

Polls on election day will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. To find your polling place, visit portlandmaine.gov/1117/Polling-Places.