Democrat Jim Boyle of Gorham won a three-way special election to represent House District 27 in the Maine Legislature.

Drew Gattine, chairman of the Maine Democratic Party, announced Boyle’s victory in a news release Tuesday night. House District 27 represents parts of Gorham and Scarborough.

Boyle received a total of 879 votes, Timothy Thorsen got 593 votes and Suzanne Phillips got 70 votes.

Boyle succeeds Democrat Kyle Bailey, who resigned in October because of a job conflict. Boyle will be sworn in soon to serve out the remainder of Bailey’s two-year term.

“It’s increasingly clear that Mainers want forward-thinking leaders, committed to ensuring a bright future for our children,” Gattine said. “Jim Boyle will be a powerful voice in Augusta, speaking out for Maine’s families and for our natural environment.”

Boyle defeated two challengers in Tuesday’s special election: Gorham Town Councilor Suzanne Phillips, who is unenrolled, and Republican Timothy Thorsen, a retired Marine Corps colonel. Boyle is a former state senator representing Maine’s 6th district from 2012-14.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.