PEDRO LOMBI, Junior – Wrestling

Contributed photo

  • • Class A state finalist, 195 pounds

Contributed photo

Lombi became the most successful Rams wrestler in several seasons, capturing a regional title and nearly adding a state crown.

Lombi didn’t even begin wrestling until his sophomore campaign, but as a junior, he put all the pieces together, winning 27 matches, including 19 straight in one juncture, while dropping only five.

Lombi excelled in the postseason as well, winning the Class A South crown at 195 pounds, pinning Portland/South Portland’s Cam Barrett and Falmouth’s Indi Bachman, then defeating Kennebunk’s Jonah Barstow by an 11-5 decision.

At the state meet, Lombi got all the way to final match before meeting his match in the form of Oxford Hills’ Christopher Levesque in an 11-8 decision.

Lombi became Deering’s first regional champion and state finalist since 2017 and he had a lot more than just pinning opponents on his mind this winter.


“(Pedro) did all this while having to miss a day a week of practice to care for his younger siblings, so he would take the time on his own to go to the gym and work out late at night after family got home,” said Deering assistant coach Ryan Hutchins.

Pedro Lombi, Deering’s Winter Athlete of the Year, has another year to chase a championship and if he shows anywhere near as much improvement from his junior to senior seasons, as he did from his sophomore to junior years, no one will be able to stop him.

Coach Chris Smith’s comment: “Pedro has worked very hard this year at becoming a better wrestler and student-athlete. I think some of the key things that made him so successful this year, besides just his natural athletic abilities, are the dedication and discipline to consistently working hard every day at practice. He took pride in our program and worked to improve the areas on the mat that needed improving to be an overall better wrestler. He was the backbone of our team this year. He’s got the stuff it takes to be a champion in this sport and I’m excited to see what next year brings for Pedro and our program.”

Previous winners:

  • • 2021-22 Remijo Wani (basketball)
    * 2020-21 Mpore Semuhoza (basketball)
    • 2019-20 Darryl Germain (basketball)
    • 2018-19 Ben Onek (basketball)
    • 2017-18 Owen McLaughlin (swimming)
    • 2016-17 Ezra Chapola (track)
    • 2015-16 Paolo DeMarco (track)
    • 2014-15 Hany Ramadan (track)
    • 2013-14 Eric Delmonte (swimming)
    • 2012-13 Jared Bell (track)
    • 2011-12 Jon Amabile (basketball)
    • 2010-11 Jon Amabile (basketball)
    • 2009-10 Eddie Tirabassi (basketball)
    • 2008-09 E.J. Googins (swimming)
    • 2007-08 Chris Smith (wrestling)
    • 2006-07 Brandon Carbone (basketball)
    • 2005-06 Allen Stein (wrestling)
    • 2004-05 Kyle Johnson (swimming)
    • 2003-04 Brian Vail (track)

MAYA GAYLE, Junior – Basketball

File photo

  • Class AA North, second-team

Contributed photo

Gayle was a force at both ends of the floor and still has a season left to help make the Rams a factor in Class AA North.


Gayle played on the varsity team during an abbreviated freshman campaign (which was cut short by COVID restrictions), then made big strides as a sophomore, averaging 10.3 points and 5.7 rebounds per game and being named to the SMAA All-Rookie team.

This winter, Gayle averaged 11.6 points, 9.2 rebounds and 2.4 steals.

Highlights included nine points in the Rams’ first victory, over Westbrook, 15 points in a win over Lewiston, 20 points in a victory over South Portland, 17 points in a loss to Hampden Academy and 16 points, including the game-tying free throws, in an overtime win over Scarborough.

Maya Gayle, Deering’s Winter Athlete of the Year, is poised for a big senior season and the Rams could make a climb up the standings as a result.

Coach Mike Murphy’s comment: “Maya gave us an inside presence to score and she was relentless on the defensive glass.”

Previous winners:

  • • 2021-22 Megan Cunningham (skiing)
    * 2020-21 Sierra Aponte-Clarke (skiing)
    • 2019-20 Megan Cunningham (skiing)
    • 2018-19 Grace Tumavicus (skiing)
    • 2017-18 Annah Rossvall (track)
    • 2016-17 Tasia Titherington (basketball)
    • 2015-16 Abi Ramirez (basketball)
    • 2014-15 Amanda Brett (basketball)
    • 2013-14 Emma Pontius (swimming)
    • 2012-13 Genevieve Worthley (swimming)
    • 2011-12 Genevieve Worthley (swimming)
    • 2010-11 Kayla Burchill (basketball)
    • 2009-10 Claire Ramonas (basketball)
    • 2008-09 Diana Manduca (basketball)
    • 2007-08 Diana Manduca (basketball)
    • 2006-07 Nicole Garland (basketball)
    • 2005-06 Emily Sweatt (swimming)
    • 2004-05 Rebecca Schack (track)
    • 2003-04 Megan Urban (basketball)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter:@foresports.

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: