Denise Thorsson, Helene DiBartolomeo and and Andrew Magoun were elected June 11 to the Cumberland Town Council.

Thorsson, who won the at-large seat, earned 1,092 votes, just two votes more than opponent Tanner Storey received. A third at-large candidate, Mark Franco, got 600 votes.

DiBartolomeo took the west seat with 1,378 votes. Her competition, Geoffrey Michalak, won 1,261 votes.

Andrew Magoun beat out George Turner 1,411 to 1,222 for the Foreside seat.

Thorsson, a systems analyst who was previously a Chinese language analyst with the U.S. Air Force, spoke on the campaign trail about promoting growth in areas where there are services while also preserving rural parts of the town. She also wants to expand the different types of housing in Cumberland and grow the commercial tax base.

Magoun is a real estate professional who previously worked for the U.S. Department of Defense. He is in favor of “growing smartly” and emphasized during a recent candidate forum the importance of making financial decisions that will benefit the town over the long term.


DiBartolomeo is the former finance director for the town of Cumberland. She told voters that better collaboration between the town, the Cumberland-North Yarmouth school district, and the town of North Yarmouth is among her top priorities.


“I am looking forward to getting to know my fellow councilors and other members of the community and learning from their experiences on how we can work together over the coming years,” said Magoun in an email sent after the race.

Thorsson wrote that she is eager to learn all she can “without assumptions and within a historical and current context.”


“I’m ready to dig in, gather diverse perspectives and community feedback, and investigate where we can improve Council processes, including overall transparency and public access to short and long-term projects,” she added.

DiBartolomeo did not respond to a request for comment.

There were no incumbents in the race, though George Turner previously served on the Town Council for over a decade.

The three winning candidates will serve three-year terms and replace outgoing Councilors Shirley Storey-King, Ronald Copp and Mark Segrist.


This story was updated June 17.

Comments are not available on this story.