Westbrook, Standish pupils win ‘Happiness’ contest

Garelick Farms has selected Westbrook Middle School sixth-grader Kaitryn Pitt and fourth-grader Colby Frost of George E. Jack School in Standish as Cumberland County winners of its “Pure Happiness” Design Contest.

Kaitryn and Colby will each receive a $500 savings bond and $500 for the art department at their schools to use for art supplies or any other education-related expenses.

Garelick Farms invited kindergarten through sixth-grade students to submit original illustrations depicting what “Pure Happiness” means to them.

Sixteen winners were selected from a pool of more than 500 entrants with Pitt and Frost chosen as the Cumberland County winners for their submissions.

To view a complete gallery of the winners’ entries,go to


Library literacy programs get boost from Rotary Club

The Rotary Club of South Portland & Cape Elizabeth has donated $800 to youth literacy programs at the South Portland Public Library and the Thomas Memorial Library in Cape Elizabeth.

Each library will receive $400 to be used to enhance literacy programs through the purchase of books and materials to promote literacy, reading, and interest in education among young people.

Some of the materials will also assist individuals learning English as a second language.


Leader of Youth Council cited for community service

Shae Horrigan, leader on the Strategies for a Stronger Sanford Youth Council, has been awarded the 2013 York County Youth Spirit of Service Award for commitment to service and impact in the community.

Sponsored by United Way of York County, in partnership with Kennebunk Savings, the award is given annually to a young volunteer with high commitment, large impact on the community and service beyond others performing similar work.

A selection committee found that Horrigan demonstrated all of those qualities.

In recognition of Horrigan’s service, the Kennebunk Savings Foundation awarded $250 to the charity of her choice and $250 toward her educational expenses.

Shae and other young volunteers — Caleb Heyland of Kennebunk, Madeline Andrews of Wells, Meredith Marquis of Acton, Andrew Bryant of South Berwick, Emily Shupp of Sanford, the Thornton Academy Action Team, Emily Doyon of Biddeford and Elyse Oliver of Biddeford — were honored at the 18th Annual Day of Caring kickoff breakfast on June 5.