Thirty-seven Girl Scouts receive Silver Award honors

Girl Scouts of Maine recently honored 37 Scouts with Silver Awards for projects they completed this year reflecting their leadership and citizenship skills.

Honored were: Sierra Gilman of Argyle Township; Gabrielle Carr, Micayla Driscol and Briana Harris, all of Ashland; Lindsay Nevin and Ava Sealander of Brooklin; Rachel Eramo and Abigail Gauthier of Brunswick; Caitlin Buswell and Abbie Forget of Buckfield; Willow Ward of Carmel; Kallee Gallant and Grace Mongeau of Cumberland; Hayden Thomas of Durham; Allison Richards and Katelyn Rouleau of Freeport; Hanna Williams of Hartford; Sage Croteau and Jodie Sheets of Hebron; Brianna Depuy of Levant; Rachel Kuklinski of Mechanic Falls; Jordan Gregory and Bailee Kinney of Minot; Sierra Cummins of Monmouth; Isabelle Ward of Old Town; Corilie Green, Jessica Minieri, Shiloh Munsen and Amelia Searfoss, all of Pownal; Rebecca Paterson and Savanna Perry of Sanford; Kelli Ames of Springvale; Gabrielle Begos and Maureen Grant of Westbrook; Molly Horton of North Yarmouth; and Mairead Murphy of York.

The Girl Scout Silver Award is the highest award a Girl Scout in grades 6 to 8 can earn.


Grants support efficiency for 10 historic buildings

The Maine Community Foundation’s Grants to Green program, which helps Maine nonprofits increase the energy efficiency of historic downtown buildings, recently awarded nearly $250,000 to 10 organizations across Maine.

Seven of the awards support implementation of energy efficiency projects, including lighting upgrades, insulation, new heating systems and window repairs. Grantees include libraries in Blue Hill, Cornish and Eastport; Center Theatre in Dover-Foxcroft; Maine Discovery Museum in Bangor; the Waterville Opera House; and Tides Institute and Museum in Eastport.

Three assessment grants, to support energy audits, also were awarded to Historic New England for the Jewett-Eastman House in South Berwick; Catholic Charities for St. Elizabeth’s Child Care Center in Portland; and Aroostook CAP Presque Isle for Family Services property.

For more details, visit


Two from Kennebunk High are Students of the Month

Two Kennebunk High School students were recently voted Students of the Month at the Biddeford Regional Center of Technology.

Ryan Upton, who is in the welding program, was selected from the technology programs.

Gabrielle Kruteleski, who is in the early childhood education program, was selected from the business, education and health careers programs.

The Bank of Maine provided monetary awards to the two honorees.

Receiving honorable mention were students Max Belfance, Johanna Cerone, Stephanie Fuhrman, Trevor Grenier, Austin Harmon, Kristen Haycock, Aliyah Hubbard, Tyler LaPointe, Kyle Metcalf and Jillian Vigneault.

SMHC Auxiliary will help palliative care program

The Southern Maine Health Care Auxiliary recently donated $5,000 to kick-start the SMHC palliative care program.

Auxiliary president Jennifer Paige presented the donation to Louise Beaulieu, clinical director of practice operations, and Heather DiYenno, palliative care program manager, at the auxiliary’s recent annual meeting.

Palliative care focuses on relieving and preventing the suffering of patients. Unlike hospice care, palliative medicine is appropriate for patients in all disease stages, including those undergoing treatment for curable illnesses and those living with chronic diseases, as well as patients who are nearing the end of life.