Bonny Eagle High School attended the FIRST Robotics Competition in Manchester, N.H., and came away with some awards.

The BERT (Eagle Industries Inc. & Bonny Eagle High School Robotics Team) Team was awarded the Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers Entrepreneurship Award. This award celebrates the entrepreneural spirit by recognizing a team that, since inception, has developed the framework for a comprehensive business plan to scope, manage, and archive team objectives. They also received the Underwriters Laboratories Industrial Safety Award.

Team members included Marc Coppi, Jesse Jordan, Sean Marsh, Eric Trumble, Devan Arnold, Nick Casciola, Wilson French, Chase Boothby, Emily Munro-Ludders, Ben Hall, Ben Jewett, Jade Thibodeau, Joshua Pinder, David Doyon, Douglas Negus, Janell Biczak, Andrew Murray, Matt G. Payeur, Samantha Miller, Alexander Szatkowski, Cori Simmons, Daniel Davis, Michael Morrison, Andrew Szatkowski, and Ashley Cox.

The competition was founded by Dean Kamen, who invented (among other things) the Segway Human Transporter. FIRST translates into “For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology.” The program’s goal for the past two decades: to demonstrate to kids that a lucrative professional sports contract or a megamillion-dollar movie deal aren’t the only ways to achieve stardom in this ever-changing world.

Bonny Eagle’s Jesse Jordan and Wini the dog, are first in line to receive the team award at the FIRST Robotics competition, held in Manchester, N.H.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.