Local students receive
AP Scholar awards

PORTLAND — Twenty-four students from the Portland Public Schools have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their performance on AP exams taken last school year.

Brian Furey, Nathaniel Jewett and Jules Szanton of Portland High School qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award.

Two Portland High students and two Deering students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award. Those students are Victoria McIntyre and Amorosa Romano of Portland High School and Justin McCallum and John Young of Deering High School.

Nine Portland High students and eight Deering High students qualified for the AP Scholar Award. They are Katherine Asam, Chris Brandmaier, Nathan Buck, Greer Chapman, Laura Cowie, Leland Foster, Max Morris, Audrey Seiz and Timothy Weber of Portland High School and John Clarke, Jiyeon Kim, Kevin MacDowell, Eric Mason, Natalie Mitchell, Brian Muir, Hussan Shareef and Kelly Steinhagen of Deering High School.

Portland students make
national merit semifinals


EVANSTON, Ill. — The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has named students from Casco Bay High School, Cheverus High School, Deering High School and Waynflete as semifinalists in its 55th annual National Merit Scholarship program.

Local students include Margaret L. Eismeier of Casco Bay High School; Emily L. Machesney and Sara J. Makaretz of Cheverus High School; Nicholas Devlin and Jean H. McCabe, of Deering High School; and Devin H. Van Dyke of the Waynflete School.

Winners of the scholarship program will be announced starting in April 2010.

Deprez earns
journalism scholarship

ELLSWORTH — The Guy P. Gannett Journalism Scholarship Fund of the Maine Community Foundation has awarded $145,000 in scholarships to 16 Maine high school graduates.

Esme Deprez of Portland, a student enrolled  in a dual degree program with the Graduate School of Journalism at
Columbia University and the Ecole de journalisme at Sciences Po in Paris, was one of 12 students to have the Gannett scholarship renewed.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: