Local students reach
national merit semifinals

EVANSTON, Ill. — The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has named six students from two area high schools as semifinalists in its 55th annual National Merit Scholarship program.

Students who have made the semifinals include Danielle Smith of Topsham, Mount Ararat High School; and Will Geoghegan, Conor Kelly, Daniel Pavitt, Johanna Thompson-Westra and David Wright, Brunswick High School.

Winners of the National Merit Scholarship competition will be announced starting in April 2010.

Bath students earn
AP Scholar awards

BATH — Nineteen students from Morse High School have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their academic performance on Advanced Placement Exams taken last spring.


The six students that qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award are Katherine Birdsall, Kelsey Boyce, Parker Bunce, Jessica Dolloff, Adrienne Jaeger and Maxine Secskas.

Isaac Edmondson, Kean McDermott and Emily Powers qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award.

The following students that qualified for the AP Scholar Award are Emily Bell-Hoerth, Jillian Brown, Tucker Cook, Erik Dudley, Victoria Haggett, Berkley Heath, Cletus Jacobs, Larissa Jacobs, Aaron Valentine and Sarah Winglass.


SNHU names deans,
president’s list

BRUNSWICK — The following students of Southern New Hampshire University, Brunswick Maine Center for Continuing Education, have been recognized for academic achievement in summer 2009.

The president’s list, awarded to students with a GPA of 3.5 and higher, includes Susan Ayer of Bath, Doreen Boucher of Bowdoin, Andre Correa of Brunswick, Glen Deveaux of Brunswick, Sharon Duplayee of Topsham, Julian Ervin of Bowdoin, Shannon Hanson of Brunswick, Matthew Newcomb of Topsham, Lisa Rendall of Brunswick, Maraya Slaff of Brunswick and Ashleigh Tate of Bath.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must earn a GPA between 3.0 and 3.5. Dean’s list students are Corey Christensen of Brunswick, Chip Coffin of Brunswick, Scott Grant of Topsham, Kathleen Hennessey of Harpswell, Rande Lavallee of Topsham, Carie Murphy of Brunswick, Jennifer Musick of Brunswick, Mark Oliver of Brunswick, Cody Oliver of Brunswick and Heidi Roberts of Bath.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: