Eric Schwaab has joined the National Marine Fisheries Service as assistant administrator. He brings more than 25 years of experience in natural resource management to the position.

John Beaumont has joined SMRT Inc. as a member of the company’s mechanical engineering practice, focusing on energy modeling.

Steven Florenz has joined SMRT Inc. as a member of the company’s structural engineering team as a structural drafter.

Abigail Cram has joined SMRT Inc. as an architectural designer.

Jodi Chute has joined Keller Williams Realty. She and her husband enjoy renovating bank-owned homes for sale or rental.

Margaret Wilder and Kent Whitaker will staff the new H.M. Payson & Co. office in downtown Damariscotta. Whitaker has more than 25 years of industry experience and Wilder brings 10 years of related client service experience to the firm.

Christopher Wellins, M.D.,  has been named medical director of care coordination at Maine Medical Center. He has been in practice with the Greater Portland Medical Group since 1997 and has served on numerous hospital patient safety and quality committees.

Tabitha Blake and Laura Zimmerman have joined the Cold River Vodka team as spirits brokers. Each brings to the table a diverse portfolio and extensive experience from the spirits world.

Ginny Marvin has been hired as the online marketing manager for Legacy Publishing. Formerly vice president of client strategy at HMG Marketing, she brings 10 years of marketing expertise and online experience to the job.

Michael Abbatiello of Falmouth has been hired as chief operating officer at Counseling Services Inc. He has many years of experience as a health care executive, working in finance and operations.

Shiloh Theberg has been hired as associate attorney at Fisher & Phillips LLP in Portland. Theberg previously served as in the associate litigation department of Saul Ewing LLP in Pennsylvania.


Landis Hudson of Yarmouth has been selected as the executive director of Maine Rivers, a statewide environmental advocacy organization. She has worked with the organization for two years, most recently as program director.

Karyn Scharf Morin has been promoted to vice president, branch administrator, at Kennebunk Savings Bank. She has been with the bank since 2001.

Michael Roy, M.D., has been appointed chief of the department of medicine at Maine Medical Center. He has been serving in this role in an interim capacity since 2008.


University of Maine’s AEWC Advanced Structures and Composites Center has been recognized as an industry leader by the American Composites Manufacturers Association for the third year in a row. The center received the association’s Most Creative Application Award for Composites Excellence for its “Bridge-in-a-Backpack” innovation.

Catharine “Kay” Lebowitz was the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award presented by Penobscot County Republican Chair Rick Johnston during the Lincoln Day Dinner. She has welcomed home more than 950,000 servicemen and women to the Bangor International Airport.

Harbor Technologies LLC has received the 2010 American Composites Manufacturing Association’s Award for Composite Excellence in “Infinite Possibility,” recognizing the company’s Hybrid Composites Beam.

Old Orchard Beach Baseball Card & Sport Shop has been recognized by the Sports Licensing and Tailgate Show with the Rising Star Award for its spirit of innovation.

Downeast Energy’s Mount Vernon office has been recognized by the United Way of the Tri-Valley Area with the Outstanding Achievement Award for innovative participation in the organization’s campaign, and the You Raise Me Up Award, in appreciation for contributions to the United Way.

Leonard Tyler, president of Maine Maritime Academy, has been selected to receive the 2010 Mariner’s Award. The award is presented annually to an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to the appreciation of Maine’s maritime heritage.


Day One has elected the following officers to its board: Dianne Nason, senior vice president of Key Private Bank, will serve as president; Jack Quirk, human resources director for Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield, will serve as vice president; Steve Eddy will serve as treasurer; Lisa Downing, human resources manager for Diversified Communications, will serve as secretary and co-chairwoman of the Resource Development Committee; Kevin Freeman, director of business development for the Pizzagalli Construction Co., will serve as co-chairman of the Resource Development Committee; and Susan York-Wilbur will serve as chairwoman of the Nominating Committee.

• Oliver Andrews of Phippsburg has been elected to the Bath Savings Institution’s board of trustees. Andrews is a private business consultant and former bank executive.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.