Chris Brann has been hired as commercial credit administration manager for Mechanics Savings Bank. He previously worked for TD Bank. 

Curt Madison has been selected to serve as director of distance education, University College, for the University of Maine System. He has led distance education efforts at the University of Alaska in Fairbanks since 2002. 

Susan Scanlon of Cumberland has joined Re/Max by the Bay as a Maine licensed commercial broker, specializing in sales and leasing of commercial real estate in Greater Portland and southern Maine.

Stephan Swan has joined Re/Max by the Bay. He is a residential broker with more than 30 years of experience working in southern Maine.

Tina Sergerstrom has joined Re/Max by the Bay as an operations manager and talent scout.

Laura Serino has joined Next Day Art as a licensing account manager. She has a background in publishing and graduated from Fordham University.

Dr. Ahmad Halawa has joined Dr. Betty Kennedy and Dr. Lawrence Baker at Lewiston Medical Associates. He previously practiced at Sabattus Street Internal Medicine.

Tim King has joined Fendler Communications as a senior public relations counselor. He has more than 15 years of experience in sales, product marketing, account management and strategic public relations experience.


Stacey Canas of Windham has been named a semifinalist in a nationwide art contest presented by the National Kidney Foundation in honor of its 60th anniversary. She is a kidney donor and her photo entry represents a mother getting the opportunity to walk her daughter down the aisle. 

Michael Dubyak, chairman and CEO of Wright Express, Harold Pachios, senior partner at Preti Flaherty, and Joan Benoit Samuelson, founder and chair of the TD Bank Beach to Beacon 10K Road Race, have been recognized by the Junior Achievement Maine Business Hall of Fame. They join a group of 56 men and women who have been inducted to the hall since 1990. 

R.J. Grondin and Sons of Gorham received the National Safety Excellence Award. The company received the Merit Award for Safety Excellence in the heavy and civil engineering construction category. 

Sara Beth Shubert, M.D., of Falmouth was inducted as a Fellow of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons. A graduate of Yale University and Tufts University School of Medicine, she has a special interest in treatment of complex shoulder disorders and sports medicine. 

Michael McCarthy, principal of King Middle School in Portland, has been named Maine’s 2010 Middle Level Principal of the Year. He has been honored for his accomplishments as an educational leader in such areas as personal excellence, collaborative leadership, curriculum, instruction and assessment.


Bruce McNamee has been elected chairman and Bob Dubois has been elected vice chairman of Sanford Institution for Savings board of directors. McNamee has been a member of the board since 1990 and Dubois has served since 2000.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.