Disability RMS, a reinsurance provider in Westbrook, has hired Ashleigh Dixon, Jennifer McKinnon and Kristy Applebee as new business specialists and Amy Moran as senior new business specialist.

Jonathan James Cagney has joined Hobbs Funeral Home as a licensed funeral director. He was previously an attendant and apprenticed at an area funeral home before earning his certification in 2008.

Matthew Haley has joined Haley’s Metal Shop in Biddeford as operations manager. He is the fifth generation in the family business, which was founded by his great-great-grandfather in 1917.

Kelly Parker has joined Allen & Selig Realty of North Yarmouth, bringing with her 10 years of experience in the real estate industry and seven years as a designated broker-owner of Real Estate Exchange, Inc.

Jesse Baines of Portland has joined Friends of Casco Bay as development and communications associate. Previously, she was event coordinator for GrowSmart Maine and the marketing and membership associate for the Maine Lobstermen’s Association.

Bruce Garrigan of Buxton has joined Foreside Real Estate Management, Inc., of Portland as manager of the maintenance department. He has 29 years of experience in property management industry.


Danielle Hayes has been promoted to new business specialist at Disability RMS.

Brianna Twofoot has been appointed field director for the Maine Civil Liberties Union. She has been an organizer for the MCLU for the past two years, working on a wide variety of civil liberties issues.


Marilyn Flaherty-Burkowski of Hollis, a junior natural resource management-forest technology major at Glenville (W.Va.) State College, has been inducted into the Council of Eastern Forest Technology Schools honorary. This is the oldest award the organization gives to outstanding individuals in forest technology with at least a 3.30 in their forestry courses and 3.0 overall grade point average.

Terrace Communities has received one of the Assisted Living Federation of America’s “2010 Best of the Best Awards.” The senior assisted living community has been recognized in the operations/technology category for its Terrace Communities Online initiative.

Tim Crowley and Margaret Minott have been presented with the first Minott Crowley Award for their commitment to helping low-income Mainers. The award was created by the Maine Volunteer Lawyers Project to honor their efforts.

Christopher Winchester, an educational technician at Marshwood Great Works School, has received the 2010 Joan McGovern Educational Support Professional Award.

Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. has been named as finalist for two of the specialty food industry’s most prestigious awards. The Port Clyde Mac & Cheese was nominated “Outstanding Frozen Savory,” and the Linekin Bay Lobster Corn Chowder was nominated “Outstanding Soup, Stew, Bean or Chili.” Awards will be given out in June.

Jon Ljunggren of Vienna was named the winning photographer in the contest held by The Maine Commission for Community Service for his image depicting volunteer firefighters from three towns helping a Mount Vernon farmer in need. Honorable mention included images by Charlotte Henderson and John Begin. The contest celebrated volunteerism in Maine, and images were on display during the Governor’s Volunteer Service Awards.

Westbrook Regional Vocational Center has announced its continued accreditation with New England Association of Schools and Colleges, having undergone a comprehensive evaluation and a yearlong self-study addressing the commission’s standards of membership.

Keith Gray has been selected 2010 Citizen Volunteer of the Year by the Maine Recreation and Parks Association for his volunteering with the Yarmouth Boy and Girl Scouts.

The Maine Credit Union League has received the Diamond Award in the CUNA Marketing and Business Development Council’s Diamond Awards competition for the 2009 statewide campaign “There’s More for You.”


Avesta Housing recently appointed new officers to is board of directors, including Gail Kingsley as board chairman, Neal Allen as vice chairman, Cornelia Swanson as treasurer, and Mary Striker as secretary.

Ann Elderkin has been elected president of the PORTopera board of directors. She takes office just as the company enters its 16th year.

Edward Flanagan has been elected chairman of the American Frozen Food Institute’s Board of Directors. He is president and CEO of Jasper Wyman & Son, a producer and marketer of wild blueberries and other berries.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.